fb twitter yt

Kerry make Limerick fight all the way in AHL 2016-02-21 18:47:00

Allianz Hurling League Division 1B
Kerry 1-15 Limerick 1-19

Limerick, as expected, may have come away from Fitzgerald Stadium with the two League points on offer in the bag but Kerry nonetheless kept their recently acquired hurling reputation intact after fighting all the way to the final whistle at which stage just four points separated the sides.

Limerick, with wind assistance, had dominated the opening period but backed by the elements in the second half Kerry whittled away at the Limerick lead scoring five points on the trot at one stage as they put in a storming finish. In the end however, they were left to bemoan the concession of a string of scores to their opponents in a ten minute spell that more or less decided the outcome between the 10th and 20th minutes of the first half.

Kerry, who had John Griffin starting in place of Darren Dineen, opened the scoring through Michael O’Leary but Barry Nash (2) and Cian Lynch responded before Kerry had their second of the afternoon from John Egan in the 9th minute. Then came that Limerick scoring burst with 6 points on the trot, including 3 from David Reidy, before Declan Hannon had the only goal of the game in the 18th minute to leave the winners 1-9 to 0-2 ahead. Two more points followed from Mulcahy and Byrne before Michael O’Leary had a fine score for the home side and after Shane Nolan added a pointed free, Mikey Boyle somehow deflected Shane Nolan’s long free past Nicky Quaid to give his side a huge injection. Limerick responded with 5 points, Barry Nash and Diarmuid Byrne getting two apiece, before Colum Harty had a good score for Kerry on the short whistle to leave his side 1-16 to 1-5 in arrears at the break.

Kerry were now backed by the elements on the resumption and Jack Goulding and John Egan had two good points that were quickly replied to by Declan Hannon frees. Kerry were growing into the game however and between the 15th and 30th minutes they scored 5 unanswered points – three from Shane Nolan frees and one each from John Egan (free) and Philip Lucid from all of 70 yards. Sean Tobin pointed for Limerick but Kerry, urged on by a vocal attendance of 1,612, kept plugging away and were rewarded with three late points from an Egan free, a long range free from Philip Lucid and a fine long range effort from Patrick Kelly to close the scoring.

Wexford, who went down narrowly to Clare today, are Kerry’s next opponents in Austin Stack Park on March 6th.

Scorers for Kerry: Shane Nolan 0-5 (4f), John Egan 0-4, Mikey Boyle 1-0, Philip Lucid (1f), Michael O’Leary 0-2 each, Colum Harty and Jack Goulding 0-1 each.
Limerick: Declan Hannon 1-4, Barry Nash 0-4, Diarmuid Byrne 0-3 (2f, 0-1 ’65), David Reidy 0-3, Paul Browne 0-2, Cian Lynch 0-1, Graeme Mulcahy 0-1
KERRY: Martin Stackpoole; Seán Weir, Bryan Murphy, Keith Carmody; Daniel Collins, Tommy Casey, Tom Murnane; John Griffin, Patrick Kelly, Shane Nolan, Michael O'Leary, Colum Harty; John Egan, Mikey Boyle, Jack Goulding. Subs: Jordan Conway for Nolan (55), Philip Lucid for Goulding (63), Jason Diggins for Collins (70).
LIMERICK: Nicky Quaid; Tom Condon, Richie McCarthy, Richie English; Dan Morrissey, Diarmaid Byrne, Séamus Hickey; Darragh O'Donovan, Paul Browne; David Reidy, Gavin O'Mahony, Cian Lynch; Graeme Mulcahy, Declan Hannon, Barry Nash. Subs: John Fitzgibbon for O'Donovan (29), Paudie O'Brien for Reidy (50), Seánie Tobin for Mulcahy (54), Tom Morrissey for Nash (58), Pat Ryan for Condon (60).

Kerry Senior Hurling Team V Limerick – Allianz Hurling League Division 1B
The Kerry Senior Hurling Team to play Limerick in the Allianz Hurling League Round 2 at Killarney’s Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday next at 2pm, shows no change from the side that opened their campaign with victory over Laois on Sunday last.
The team captained by Daniel Collins of Kilmoyley lines out as follows:
1​Martin Stackpoole​Lixnaw
2​Sean Weir​​Crotta O’Neills
3​Bryan Murphy​​Causeway
4​Keith Carmody​Causeway
5​Daniel Collins​(C)​Kilmoyley
6​Darren Dineen​St Brendans
7​Tom Murnane​​Kilmoyley
8​Patrick Kelly​​Clarecastle
9​Tommy Casey​​Causeway
10​Shane Nolan​​Crotta O’Neills
11​Michael O’Leary​Abbeydorney
12​Colum Harty​​Causeway
13​John Egan​​St Brendans
14​Mikey Boyle​​Ballyduff
15​Jack Goulding​​Ballyduff
Fir Ionaid:
16​Aidan McCabe​Kilmoyley
17 ​Brendan Brosnan​Lixnaw
18​John Buckley​​Lixnaw
19​Mike Milner​​Dr Crokes
20​Jordan Conway​Crotta O’Neills
21​Jason Diggins​​Causeway
22​Dougie Fitzelle​Kilmoyley
23​John Griffin​​Lixnaw
24​Philip Lucid​​Ballyheigue
25​James O’Connor​Abbeydorney
26​Brendan O’Leary​Abbeydorney
Bainisteoir: Ciaran Carey (Patrickswell)

Coach/Selector: Mark Foley (Adare)

Treanálaí: Damien Ryall (Abbeydorney)

Róghnoirí: James McCarthy (Kilmoyley), Michael Conway (Lixnaw)

Additional Players on Panel:

Stephen Murphy
Darragh Shanahan
Paudie O’Connor
Jordon Brick
P J Keane
Gerard Stackpoole

The Ballyduff pair, Paud Costelloe and Padraig Boyle, are rehabbing from injury.