fb twitter yt

Templenoe are County Junior Champions 2015 2015-11-08 20:04:00

Castleisland Mart Junior Football Championship Final

Templenoe 1-14 Glenbeigh-Glencar 1-6

Novice Champions just two years ago, Templenoe were crowned Kerry Junior Champions today following victory over Glenbeigh-Glencar in a disappointingly one sided final in Fitzgerald Stadium.

Once the winners took advantage of the wind in the first half to open up an 8 points interval lead, the writing was always on the wall for the Mid Kerry men and Templenoe were quite content to soak up the pressure in the second half.

Templenoe got the perfect start when Gavin Crowley pointed them in front two minutes in and two minutes later Sean Sheehan was on hand to finish to the net after Killian Spillane’s shot was saved by Rory O’Connor. Gavan O’Grady did open the scoring for Glenbeigh in the 6th minute but Templenoe added four points to one in reply to lead by 1-5 to 0-1 after 15 minutes. The losers were making no headway against the Templenoe defence and after Stephen O’Sullivan reduced the deficit, Teddy Doyle showed the difference between the sides when he combined with his two midfielders to shoot a point in the 25th minute. Killian Spillane, from a free and play left the half time score 1-8 to 0-3 in Templenoe’s favour.

Gavan O’Grady and Patrick Clifford swapped points on the resumption before Glenbeigh-Glencar were dealt another blow when Pa Kilkenny saw red after a second yellow in the 39th minute. The game as a contest deteriorated thereafter and Templenoe led by 1-11 to 0-5 when Glenbeigh were awarded a penalty after a good move between Darran O’Sullivan and Gavan O’Drady in the 52nd minute. The latter duly despatched the penalty to the net to leave the margin at 6 points but Danny Cahalane, Patrick Clifford and Teddy Doyle replied with points for Templenoe and the final score of the game came from Darran O’Sullivan who fired just over the bar from a close in free in the final moments.

After the game, the Con Brosnan Cup was presented to winning captain Tadhg Morley by County Committee Vice Chairman Diarmiad Ó Sé and The Castleisland Mart Man of the Match was presented to Templenoe’s wing back Gavin Crowley by Jimmy Roche of Castleisland Mart.

Templenoe will now play Bandon of Cork in the Munster Junior Club Semi final on November 22nd at a Cork venue


Templenoe: Killian Spillane 0-4 (2 Fr), Sean Sheehan 1-0, Danny Cahalane, Patrick Clifford and Teddy Doyle 0-2 each, Adrian Spillane, Gavin Crowley, Tadhg Morley and Cian Hallissey 0-1 each.
Glenbeigh Glencar:
Gavan O’Grady 1-2 (1-1 Fr), Tommy Cahill and Darran O’Sullivan (Frees) Joe McGillicuddy, Stephen O’Sullivan 0-1 each.


Gleann Beithe-Gleann Cárthaigh

1 Rory O’Connor
Ruairí Ó Conchúir

2 Vincent Hoare
Uinseann de Hóra

3 Fergal Griffin
Feargal Ó Grifín

4 Kieran Doyle
Ciarán Ó Dúghaill

5 Jack Brosnan
Sean Ó Brosnacháin

6 Pa Kilkenny
Padraig Mac Giolla Chainnigh

7 Joe McGillicuddy
Seósamh Mac Giolla Chuda

8 Colin McGillicuddy
Coilín Mac Giolla Chuda

9 Jeremiah Hoare
Diarmuid de Hóra

10 Stephen O’Sullivan
Stiofán Ó Suilleabháin

11 Darran O’Sullivan
Darran Ó Suilleabháin

12 Bernard Murphy
Bernárd Ó Murchú

13 Jason McKenna
Jason Mac Cionnaith

14 Gavan O’Grady (Capt)
Gabhin Ó Gráda

15 Tommy Cahill
Tomás Ó Cathail

Fir Ionaid:

16 Donal O’Neill
Dónal Ó Néill

17 Kieran Courtney
Ciarán Ó Curnáin

18 Caolim Teahan
Caolim Ó Téacháin

19 Daniel Griffin
Dónal Ó Grifín

20 Sean Roche
Seán de Róiste

21 Podge Griffin
Padraig Ó Grifín

22 Eugene Courtney
Eoghan Ó Curnáin

23 Shane Riordan
Seán Ó Riordán

24 Danny O’Sullivan
Dónal Ó Suilleabháin

25 Kieran Cahalane
Ciarán Ó Cathaláin

26 Daniel Murphy
Dónal Ó Murchú

27 Caoilte Purcell
Caoilte Puirséil

28 Jack O’Shea
Seán Ó Sé

29 J J Quirke
S.S. Ó Coirc

30 Calvin Teahan
Calvin Ó Téacháin

Additional players on the Glenbeigh-Glencar Panel: Mark O’Sullivan, Chris O’Sullivan, Donough McGillicuddy
William O’Sullivan, Aidan O’Shea, Peter O’Sullivan

Teampall Nua

1 Anthony Sheehan
Antóin Ó Siócháin

2 John Spillane
Sean Spealáin

3 Kieran O’Neill
Ciarán Ó Néill

4 Michael Hallissey
Micheál Ó hÁileasa

5 Patrick Clifford
Padraig Ó Clúmháin

6 Tadhg Morley (C)
Tadhg Ó Muraile

7 Gavin Crowley
Gabhin Ó Crualióch

8 Sean Sheehan
Seán Ó Siócháin

9 Adrian Spillane
Adrian Ó Spioláin

10 Josh Holland
Josh Ó hAoláin

11 Shane Cremin
Seán Ó Crimín

12 Danny Cahalane
Dónal Ó Ó Cathaláin

13 Brian Crowley
Briain Ó Crualióch

14 Teddy Doyle
Tadhg Ó Dúghaill

15 Killian Spillane
Cillian Ó Spioláin

Fir Ionaid:

16 Joseph Sheehan
Seosámh Ó Sióchain

17 Kieran McCarthy
Ciarán Mac Cárthaigh

18 Stephen O’Sullivan
Stiofán Ó Suilleabháin

19 Martin Reilly
Mairtín Ó Raithaile

20 Pat Spillane
Padraig Ó Spioláin

21 John Rice
Sean Rís

22 Patrick Palmer
Padraig Maolómhair

23 Cian Hallisey
Cian Ó hÁileasa

24 Padraig Doyle
Padraig Ó Dúghaill

25 John Moriarty
Seán Ó Muirceartaigh

26 Will Sheehy
Liam Mac an t-Síthigh

27 Colm Breen
Coilm Ó Braoin

28 Jonathan Egan
Seán Mac Aógain

29 Dan O’Connor
Dónal Ó Conchúir

30 Timmy O’Sullivan
Tadhg Ó Suilleabháin

31 Darren Cremin
Darren Ó Crimín

Mike Crowley, Paul Crowley, Mike Hussey, Nealie O’Sullivan

Glenbeigh-Glencar and Templenoe in Junior Decider

The curtain raiser to Sunday’s big game in Fitzgerald Stadium is a game that, were it a stand-alone fixture, would garner a lot of attention in its own right. Glenbeigh-Glencar and Templenoe will meet in the Castleisland Mart Junior Final (1pm) and these are two sides who come into the final with two different backgrounds.

The Mid Kerry side were pipped in the final by neighbours Keel just two years ago and last year they went down by a point to eventual champions Brosna at the semi final stage. On both occasions they were the fancied side and this year they may feel that it is their turn to lift the Con Brosnan Cup.

However, they are coming up against an up and coming Templenoe side who have worked their way up through the County League Divisions to Division 1 next season. Crowned Novice Champions two years ago, they also fell to Brosna last year by a point, but at the quarter final stageand like their opponents on Sunday they will have seen how Brosna went on to cover themselves in glory by annexing the All Ireland Junior title.

Sunday’s prize is all that will be on the minds of both sets of players however, and with an array of household names on duty on both sides there is no doubt that this game will live up to its pre match billing. Referee is Denis Sayers of Austin Stacks.