fb twitter yt

Intermediate Club Championship Final: St Marys 1-13 Spa 0-13 2015-10-18 21:49:00

Castleisland Mart Intermediate Football Championship Final
St Marys 1-13 Spa 0-13

St Marys are county Intermediate champions for the second time following a deserved victory over Spa at Fitzgerald Stadium today. In truth, St Marys were the better side throughout but they made hard work of putting their superiority on the scoreboard and it was not till they goaled six minutes from time that they finally killed the resistance of a dogged Spa side.

The winners took the game to their opponents from the start and after Bryan Sheehan and Ryan O'Carroll exchanged early points, Marys went 5 points to 1 clear with four unanswered point by the 13th minute. Michael O'Donoghue from play and a free replied with two points in a minute but good possession by Spa was spoilt by some loose passes up front allied to some quick tackling by the South Kerry side. In contrast, Marys were putting some nice moves together resulting in two points for Aidan Walsh and after Michael O'Donoghue (Free) and Daniel Daly exchanged points, two good scores from Shane Cronin and Dan O'Donoghue saw Spa go in at the break just a flattering two points in arrears, 8 points to 6 with St Marys having a 6 wide tally for the half.
Bryan Sheehan and Evan Cronin exchanged points on the resumption but then Sheehan and Niall O'Driscoll had two points within a minute for Marys to go 11 to 7 clear by the 37th minute.
Cormac Cronin reduced that lead before Spa were awarded a penalty for a foul on Michael O'Donoghue in the 38th minute, however, O'Donoghue's shot came off the post and the rebound was saved by Austin Constable in the Marys goal, Spa did regroup however and points by Cormac Cronin (Free), Ryan Carroll and a Michael O'Donoghue free had the sides level by the 47th minute. Daniel Daly and impressive sub Craig Hickey then swapped points and it was anybody's game. Then came the defining moment of the game when Aidan Walsh cut in along the line anf fisted across for the inrushing Sean Cournane to fist to the net in the 24th minute. Daniel Daly pointed the winners four clear soon after, but Cormac Cronin's point left just a score between the sides. St Marys had to soak up a lot of pressure in the final moments as Spa pressed for the equaliser and Michael O'Donoghue's shot was kept out by a despairing Marys foot in the final action of the game.
After the game the Fenian Cup was presented to winning captain Sean Cournane by County Committee chairman Patrick O'Sullivan and the Man of the Match award was presented to St Marys goalkeeper Austin Constable by Jimmy Roche of Castleisland Mart, competition sponsors.
St Marys will now meet the Tipperary champions at a Tipperary venue on the weekend of November 1st in the Munster Club Championship.
Spa: Michael O'Donoghue 0-4 (3 frees), Cormac Cronin 0-3 (1 free), Ryan O'Carroll 0-2 (1Free), Dan O'Donoghue, Evan Cronin, Craig Hickey and Shane Cronin 0-1 each.
St Marys: Bryan Sheehan 0-4 (2 frees), Daniel Daly 0-3, Sean Cournane 1-0, Aidan Walshe and Paul O'Donoghue 0-2 each, Anthony Cournane and Niall O'Driscoll 0-1 each.

Spa: James Devane, Michael Finnegan, Aidan Cahill (C), Hugh O'Donoghue, Shane Cronin, Dan O'Donoghue, Shane Lynch, Andrew Garnett, Liam Kearney, Mike McCarthy, Michael O'Donoghue, Ryan O'Carroll, Cormac Cronin, Mike Foley, Evan Cronin. Subs: Craig Hickey, Brian Lynch, Cian Tobin and Ciaran Spillane.
St Marys: Austin Constable, Patrick Cournane, Brian Curran, Conor O'Shea, Daniel O'Sullivan, Liam Sheehan, Conor Quirke, Bryan Sheehan, Denis Daly, Paul O'Donoghue, Niall O'Driscoll, Aidan Walsh, Sean Cournane (Capt), Daniel Daly, Anthony Cournane. Subs: Ian Casey and Darren Casey.