fb twitter yt

Kerry Minors see off Sligo to earn Semi Final against Derry 2015-08-03 16:25:00

Electric Ireland All Ireland Minor Championship Quarter Final

Kerry 2-12 Sligo 1-6
Kerry Minors duly qualified for an Electric Ireland Minor Football Championship semi final meeting with Derry on August 23rd in Croke Park following a nine points victory over Connaught runners-up Sligo at a very blustery O’Connor Park Tullamore today.

Sligo were first on the scoreboard with a point from Finnnian Cawley, indeed the same player had brought a good save from Billy Courtney very early in the game. Conor Geaney equalised from a free moments later but Kerry were finding it difficult to open up a defensively minded Sligo outfit who played just two men up front. Brian Ó Seanacháin gave Kerry a boost in the 6th minute when he fielded and turned and goaled but scores were slow to come by for the rest of the half. Conor Geaney pointed in the 11th and 17th minutes before Daniel O’Brien, after a fine run, pointed in the 19th minute.Further Kerry points from Geaney and Gavin White, either side of two good Sligo points from distance by Brian Kennedy for Sligo, left Kerry leading by 1-6 to 0-3 and in control at the break.

Sligo resumed in a more determined mood and Liam Geoghan pointed quickly but Daniel O’Brien was up-field again from his wing back position to send over from 50 yards. Brian Kennedy had another good score for the Westerners but then Conor Geaney pointed and following a poor kick out the ball was played across the square invitingly for Geaney to palm to the net and give his side a 2-8 to 0-5 lead. Andrew Barry, Conor Geaney and Gavin White, after a sweeping move, had Kerry 2-11 to 0-5 ahead before Cian Lally had Sligo’s second point of the half. Kerry manager, Jack O'Connor ran the bench and Sligo struck for a goal when Billy Courtney saved well but Kyle Cawley finished the rebound to the net. The score was of little consequence however and it was a case of too little too late and Ronan Buckley closed the scoring in the final minute with a point to leave Kerry victorious on a score of 2-12 to 1-6.

Scorers: Kerry: Conor Geaney 1-6, Brian Ó Seanacháin 1-0, Gavin White and Daniel O’Brien 0-2 each, Andrew Barry 0-1.
Subs Used: Michael Foley, Evan Cronin, Ronan Buckley, James Duggan, Dara O’Shea.

Kerry V Sligo Electric Ireland GAA Minor Football Championship Quarter Final

The Kerry Minor Football Team to play Sligo in the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Football Championship Quarter Final tie in O’Connor Park Tullamore on Bank Holiday Monday (2pm) shows 3 changes in personnel from the side that defeated Tipperary in the Munster Final.
John Mark Foley replaces the injured Mark O’Connor at midfield, Brandon Barrett comes into the half forward line in place of the injured Cormac Linnane and Bryan Sweeney replaces Michael Foley at full forward.
The team, captained by Dingle’s Conor Geaney is as follows:

1. Billy Courtney Dr. Crokes
2. Darren Brosnan Gneeveguilla
3. Jason Foley Ballydonoghue
4. Jack Morgan Austin Stacks
5. Gavin White Dr. Crokes
6. Mike Breen Beaufort
7. Daniel O’Brien Glenflesk
8. Andrew Barry Na Gaeil
9. John Mark Foley Kilgarvan
10. Brandon Barrett Ardfert
11. Brian Ó Seanacháin Ballydonoghue
12. Sean O’Shea Kenmare
13. Stephen O'Sullivan Templenoe
14. Bryan Sweeney Listowel Emmets
15. Conor Geaney Dingle (Captain)

Fir Ionaid
16. Eoghan O’Brien Churchill
17. Michael Foley Spa
18. Tom O'Sullivan Dingle
19. Dara O’Shea Kenmare
20. Ronan Buckley Listry
21. Graham O'Sullivan Dromid Pearses
22. Evan Cronin Spa
23. Jack Goulding Ballyduff
24. James Duggan John Mitchels

Additional Players on the Kerry Minor Panel
David Shaw (Dr Crokes), Niall Collins (Listowel Emmets), Sean Bambury (An Ghaeltacht), Michael Reidy (Ballymacelligott), Ferdia O’Brien (Austin Stacks), Karl Mullins (Kerins O’Rahillys).
Injured Players:
Mark O’Connor (Dingle) and Cormac Linnane (Beale).

Bainisteoir: Jack O’Connor (Dromid Pearses)
Roghnoirí: Micheal O’Shea (Castlegregory), Eamon Whelan (St Senans).
Treanalaí: Alan O’Sullivan and Arthur Fitzgerald.
Captain: Mark O’Connor (Dingle)
Kitman: Ger O’ Mahony,
Physio: Kieran O’Shea,
Liaison Officer: Christy Killeen

The Kerry team contains just one of the side that defeated Donegal in the All Ireland Minor Final last year – Andrew Barry. Stephen O’Sullivan, who was introduced as a sub in all of Kerry’s games last year is named at corner forward while both Jason Foley and Jack Morgan, substitutes last year, are named in the full back line.

Kerry Minors play Sligo in the All Ireland Quarter Final

Kerry Minors will play Sligo in the All Ireland Quarter final at O’Connor Park in Tullamore on Bank Holiday Monday next following the Yeat’s County defeat to Galway in the replay of the Connaught final on Friday evening last.
Galway, decidedly lucky to get a second chance following a low scoring drawn encounter, made no mistake at the second time of asking when winning by 4-12 to 1-8.

Kerry have done everything that has been asked of them so far this year and followed up their opening 0-14 to 0-3 victory over Clare in Tralee with a narrow one point victory over Cork (0-16 to 1-12) after extra time in Tralee.
They then went on to claim their third Munster Minor title on the trot when defeating Tipperary by 2-14 to 1-11.
Opponents Sligo, for their part, had two fine opening victories in the Connaught championship when defeating Leitrim by 4-9 to 0-12 and followed that up with a 1-14 to 3-5 victory over a fancied Roscommon side. A last minute equaliser by Galway deprived them of an elusive Connaught title (1-4 to Galway’s 0-7) in the drawn game.
Kerry will be without their captain, Mark O’Connor through injury and of course will also be missing long term injury absentee Cormac Linnane both of whom played in the Munster final defeat of Tipperary.
The game in O’Connor Park is the first of a double header that also features the quarter final tie between Tipperary and Galway. The semi final pairing on August 23rd will see Kerry or Sligo play Derry or Longford.