fb twitter yt

The Garvey's SuperValu SHC Rd1 : Abbeydorney 1-17 St Brendans 2- 2015-07-19 23:05:00

Garveys Supervalu Senior Hurling Championship Round 1

O'Dorney upset the odds to defeat St Brendans

Abbeydorney 1-17 St Brendans 2-10

Abbeydorney caused the first major shock of this year's Championship when defeating favourites St Brendans by four points in the second game of the double header at Causeway, They did so the hard way however after recovering from a five points deficit after only eight minutes of play but they dominated the final third of the game to claim a thoroughly deserved victory over a very out of sorts Ardfert side.

John Egan opened the scoring for St Brendans in the first minute and when David Griffin set up Tim Hannifin for a goal a minute later the omens did not look good for an under pressure O'Dorney outfit. Kieran Dunne got the winners off the mark but St Brendan led by 1-4 to 0-2 after eight minutes. David Egan, who otherwise had a fine game , passed up a goal chance for O'Dorney but two frees from John Egan for St Brendans were sandwiched between three points from the influential PJ Keane (2 frees) for O'Dorney who saw another goal chance go a-begging just before the break at which stage it was 1-6 to 0-5 for St Brendans.

The game had never reached any great heights of excitement and that trend continued in the second half as Eamonn Corridan and David Griffin pointed either side of points from PJ Keane and David Egan to leave the score 1-8 to 0-7. However O'Dorney were growing into the game with every passing minute and hit 1-6 without reply to stun St Brendans with scores from PJ Keand and Ian McCarthy (2 each), Daniel O'Leary and James McCarthy before Eoin Egan finished to the net after David Egan's shot was saved by Darren Delaney to leave the winners leading by 1-13 to 1-8. John Egan and Eric Leen narrowed the gap to a goal but O'Dorney were not to be denied with three fine scores from David Egan and PJ Keane (2) to restore their 6 points lead. David Griffin goaled fro St Brendans after a goalmouth melee but Ivan McCarthy got the insurance score with a great point from the wing to ensure a memorable victory for O'Dorney.


Abbeydorney: PJ Keane 0-8 (5 fr), David Egan and Ian McCarthy (2fr) 0-3 each, Eoin Egan 1-0, Kieran Dineen, James O'Connor , Daniel O'Leary and Stevie O'Sullivan 0-1 each.

St Brendans: David Griffin 1-2, Tim Hannifin 1-0, John Egan 0-4 frees, Kevin Orpen, Kevin Skinner, Eric Leen and Eamonn Corridan 0-1 each.