fb twitter yt

Junior Club Championship Quarter Final Beaufort V Duagh 2015-05-04 10:21:00



Beaufort 2-12 Duagh 0-04

Beaufort hosted Duagh in the quarter-final of the Junior Championship last evening.  The evening was wet, but there was no wind.  Beaufort began well, but had three wides before Francis Courtney had a point from play after five minutes.  He made that two, when he scored a free after Ronan Murphy was fouled.  Duagh had a point from play from full-forward Nigel O'Connor on seven minutes, when Beaufort did not clear the ball.  The next ten minutes saw play change from side to side, but the home side were guilty of some poor shooting. Duagh had a free to level matters on seventeen minutes from Nigel O'Connor, for a pick-up off the ground. Beaufort responded with Niall O'Connor scoring from play.  This was followed soon after when Ronan Murphy picked up a break at mid-field and scored.  Ronan Murphy had his second point soon afterwards, when he was at the end of a good move out of the backs.  Duagh brought in sub, Maurice O'Connor, and he was showing well for Duagh.  From the Duagh kick-out, Fergal Hallissey fielded and set Liam Carey through for a goal.  Beaufort were dominating all over at this stage and led 1-05 to 0-02.  They had a few chances to extend their lead but had a few wides.  Duagh were awarded a free with thirty minutes on the clock, Nigel O'Connor dropped it short, Mike Moriarty began a move from the back which resulted in wing-forward Padraig O'Sullivan scoring.  Half-time score Beaufort 1-06 Duagh 0-02.

Beaufort again began the second half with intent, but on four minutes, Anthony Maher was shown a second yellow by the referee and, soon afterwards, Nigel O'Connor also got his second yellow, which saw Duagh down to 13 players.  Beaufort had a point from play from Kevin O'Brien.  They attacked again, with wing-back Shane O'Sullivan getting on the end of a good move, but his shot was well saved by Duagh's keeper Donal Scanlon.  Both sides began to run their bench at this stage, with Micheal O'Sullivan, Sean Foley and Jason Foley for Beaufort.  Jason Foley was involved immediately when he set Francis Courtney in for a point.  Again, Beaufort won the kick-out and Kevin O'Brien had a second goal for Beaufort, and this was followed by a point from play by Fergal Hallissey.  Jason Carmody kicked a close-in free for Duagh, after a foul by Beaufort, to give Duagh their first score of the second half after 19 minutes.   Alan Courtney and Conor Breen came in for Beaufort with ten minutes remaining.  Francis Courtney was fouled and Kevin O'Brien scored the free.  Duagh then made a triple substitution, with Chris Breen, Eoin Lucey and Johnny Curran coming on.  Jason Carmody had his second free for Duagh, before wing-back for Beaufort Shane O'Sullivan kicked a fine point from the side-line.  The final score came from Jason Foley, to leave the final score:           Beaufort 2-12 Duagh 0-04.  

Beaufort dominated all positions, as the score-line suggests and the two dismissals led to a very one-sided second half.   Before Nigel O'Connor was sent off, he had started the game well, though Ger Hartnett was making him work hard for the possession he got.  Duagh's full-back Aaron O'Connor did well at full-back, though Kevin O'Brien scored 1-01 from play.  Ronan Murphy did very well on county player, Anthony Maher, and kicked two points off him.  The game was well refereed by Donal Donnelly.

 Beaufort:  Mike Moriarty, Michael J. O'Connor, Ger Hartnett, James O'Reilly, Padraig Hartnett, Nathan Breen, Shane O'Sulivan, Ronan Murphy, Fergal Hallissey, Francis Courtney, Liam Carey, Padraig O'Sullivan, Niall O'Connor, Kevin O'Brien, Danny Healy.  Subs used:  Micheal O'Sullivan, Sean Foley, Jason Foley, Alan Courtney. Conor Breen.

Duagh:  Donal Scanlon, Luke O'Donnell, Aaron O'Connor, tim Quirke, Diarmauid Foley, Peter Sheeran, Jer Kelly, Anthony Maher, Kieran Lucey, Tim Scanlon, Dinny Lane, Thomas Scanlon, Ger McCarthy, Nigel O'Connor, Eoin Lucey.  Subs used:  Jason Carmody, Maurice O'Connor, Chris Breen, Eoin Lucey, Johnny Curran.