fb twitter yt

Kerry promoted to Div 1B of AHL 2015-04-11 17:03:00

KERRY 2-16 ANTRIM 1-18

From GAA.ie

Egan is a famous name in Kerry football history and it will live long in hurling folklore now after John Egan's dramatic injury-time winner at Parnell Park.

The substitute was only on the field 13 minutes when he fired the point that propelled the Kingdom to Division 1B of the Allianz Hurling League. The score finally shook off Antrim after a thrilling finale that saw the sides draw level on three separate occasions.

It means that after finishing top or joint top of Division 2A for the past three seasons, Kerry will finally go up. They lost out to Offaly in the promotion/relegation play-off last year but returned to seal the deal 12 months on.

They did it the hard way, falling eight points down at half-time but storming back in the second-half thanks to two Colm Harty goals. Shane Nolan was excellent too and fired eight points in total though it will be Egan's late winner that will be remembered most.

The result consigns Antrim to Division 2A and could prove a huge setback for the county given how difficult promotion is to secure from the third tier.

Kevin Ryan's Ulster men approached the tie with a wretched Division 1B record having lost all five of their group games. They also slipped to defeat to Laois in the relegation play-off though this tie gave them one last opportunity to save their status.

They took a commanding 0-11 to 0-3 half-time lead though it hardly reflected the exchanges in an evenly contested encounter. Kerry kicked themselves after firing nine wides while they also failed to take any of the three goal chances they carved out. Antrim had a huge wind at their backs in the opening half.

Kerry coped well with the conditions early on and Antrim led by just 0-4 to 0-2 after 20 minutes. But four frees in a row from Paul Shiels put significant daylight between the sides.

Antrim tallied nine points without reply in the middle section of the opening half to take that sizeable interval lead. It remained to be seen whether eight points was enough of an advantage as the Saffrons faced into the breeze themselves.

Kerry duly took advantage of the breeze with points from Patrick Kelly, Nolan and John Griffin after the restart Antrim points from Shiels and sub Conor Johnson stemmed the Kingdom tide momentarily but the Munster men were quickly back on the offensive.

They fired 1-2 including a fine 46th minute Colm Harty solo goal to leave just two in it with Antrim 0-13 to 1-8 ahead. Harty shot a second goal with 15 minutes remaining though Antrim raised their game too and a thrilling finale ensued.

The teams were level three times in the last 10 minutes but Egan was eventually the man that tipped it Kerry's way.


Scorers for Kerry: Shane Nolan 0-8 (5f), Colm Harty 2-0, Michael O'Leary 0-4, Patrick Kelly 0-1, John Griffin 0-1, Daniel Collins 0-1, John Egan 0-1.

Scorers for Antrim: Paul Shiels 0-7 (7f), PJ O'Connell 1-2, Ciaran Clarke 0-3 (1f), Michael Bradley 0-1, Neil McManus 0-1, Neal McAuley 0-1, Conor Johnson 0-1, Matthew Donnelly 0-1, Michael Dudley 0-1.

ANTRIM: Chris O'Connell; Odhran McFadden, Neal McAuley, Aaron Graffin; Eoin McAlonan, Neil McManus, Conor McKinley; Eoghan Campbell, Michael Bradley; Paul Shiels, Conor Carson, Daniel McKernan; PJ O'Connell, Matthew Donnelly, Ciaran Clarke. Subs: Conor Johnson for McAlonan (HT), Michael Dudley for Carson (43), Darren Hamill for Bradley (59).

KERRY: Stephen Murphy; Dougie Fitzell, Paud Costello, Bryan Murphy; Sean Weir, Darren Dineen, Daniel Collins; John Griffin, Patrick Kelly; Colm Harty, Shane Nolan, Michael O'Leary; Mikey Boyle, Padraig Boyle, Keith Carmody. Subs: John Egan for Carmody (57), for James Flaherty for P Boyle (63).

Referee: Sean Cleere (Kilkenny).


Report: Paul Keane

Kerry 2-16 Antrim 1-18

Kerry will play their hurling in Div 1B of the AHL next season with the likes of Clare, Limerick, Offaly, Laois and Wexford following this fantastic victory over Antrim in Parnell Park today.

Kerry had opened against a strong wind and despite holding their own early on, being level on 2 points each after 10 minutes, Antrim dominated the rest of the half on the scoreboard to lead by 10 points to 3 at the break. It was a position that underdogs Kerry did not deserve given how well they played in that opening half.

Kerry resumed with the strong wind at their back and it was still a 7 points game when Colm Harty struck for a goal in the 43rd minute to leave 4 points in it. Antrim goaled three minutes later  but Colm Harty struck for his second goal in the 56th minute to leave 2 points in it 1-10 to 1-15 and all to play for.

Shane Nolan’s brace of pointed frees had the sides on level terms with ten to go but Antrim soon regained the two points  lead with time running out but points from Shane Nolan and Daniel Collins had the sides deadlocked going into the minute of injury time played.

Substitute John Egan was the Kerry hero when fierce late pressure yielded the winning point with seconds left.

There were tremendous scenes of joy as the Kerry contingent celebrated what is an unprecedented achievement for this group of young players.

Ciarraí Abú! Click here for Image Gallery

Kerry Senior Hurling Team V Antrim AHL Playof

The Kerry Senior Hurling Team to play Antrim in  the Allianz Hurling League playoff at Parnell Park  on Saturday at 3:00 pm shows just one change from the side that defeated Westmeath in the AHL Div 2A Final on Saturday last; Goalkeeper James Logue is clubtied and he is replaced by Stephen Murphy. David Butler is added to the travelling party.

The team, captained by John Griffin,  lines out as follows:

1          Stephen Murphy       Causeway

2          Dougie Fitzell             Kilmoyley

3          Paud Costelloe           Ballyduff

4          Bryan Murphy                       Causeway

5          Sean Weir                   Crotta O’Neills

6          Darren Dineen           St Brendans

7          Daniel Collins             Kilmoyley

8          John Griffin    (c)        Lixnaw

9          Patrick Kelly               Clarecastle (An Clár)

10        Michael O’Leary         Abbeydorney

11        Shane Nolan              Crotta O’Neills

12        Colm Harty                 Causeway

13        Mikey Boyle               Ballyduff

14        Padraig Boyle             Ballyduff

15        Keith Carmody           Causeway

Fir Ionaid:

16        James Logue               Ballingarry (Tiobraid Árann)

17        Tommy Casey             Causeway

18        John Egan                   St Brendans

19        James Flaherty           Lixnaw

20        Rory Horgan               St Brendans

21        Philip Lucid                Ballyheigue

22        Giles O’Grady             Ballyduff

23        Brendan  O’Leary       Abbeydorney

24        Adrian Royle              Kilmoyley

25        Darragh Shanahan    Lixnaw

26        David Butler               Knockavilla Kickhams



Manager:                    Eamonn Kelly (Kildangan, Tiobraid Árann)

Coach/Selector:         Conor Gleeson (Boherlahan- Dualla, Tiobraid Árann)

Selectors:                    D. J. Leahy (Causeway), Tom O’Connell (Abbeydorney)

Physical Trainer:        Damien Ryall (Abbeydorney)

Please note that the Kerry V Antrim AHL Promotion/Relegation playoff in Parnell Pk on Saturday has now been brought forward to 3pm