fb twitter yt

Kerry Hurlers Retain AHL Div 2A Title 2015-04-04 19:22:00

Allianz Hurling League Division 2A Hurling Final:
Kerry 5-17 Westmeath 3-1
The concession of five first-half goals cost Westmeath dearly as Kerry qualified to meet Antrim in next weekend's Division IIA promotion/relegation play-off.
A shocking 18-minute spell from the Midlanders saw Kerry rattle a handful of goals, either side of one in reply from Derek McNicholas.

Mickey Boyle blasted a brace of goals before the break, while Shane Nolan, Colm Harty and Keith Carmody also hit the net before the interval for the Kingdom.
McNicholas and Darragh Clinton both goaled for Westmeath in the last four minutes, but their comeback didn't arrive quick enough as Kerry held on easily for victory.
Kerry fell behind early on as points from Clinton and Niall O'Brien got the Midlanders off to the perfect start.

But their challenge fell asunder from there as Kerry began to benefit from long, direct deliveries into their full-forward line. Nolan hit the first when he shook off the challenge of Gary Greville in the fifth minute as the sides swapped points to leave it 1-2 to 0-4 after nine minutes.
But Carmody and Boyle hit two goals in a minute – each arriving from long frees into the square – before Boyle rattled his second in the 18th minute following a great high catch from the corner-forward.

Harty's strike brought an end to a nightmare period as Kerry held a 5-5 to 1-6 advantage, but credit to Westmeath, who hit five points in a row before half-time, to reduce the deficit to just nine points.

Pádraig Boyle settled Kerry into the second-half with a long range free to stretch his side's lead out to ten points, and any hope of a Westmeath comeback disappeared when Brendan Murtagh's goal from a free was ruled out when he crossed the 20-metre when striking.
A fine save from James Logue denied McNicholas after 52 minutes and from then on Kerry easily ran out winners despite Clinton's late goal for Westmeath a minute from time.
Scorers for Kerry: M Boyle 2-2, P Boyle 0-7 (6f), S Nolan 1-3, C Harty 1-2, K Carmody 1-0, J Griffin, P Kelly, J Flaherty 0-1 each.
Scorers for Westmeath: D Clinton 1-4, D McNicholas 2-1, N O'Brien 0-5 (5f), B Murtagh (1f), C Boyle 0-2 each, E Price, A Devine, N Dowdall 0-1 each.
J Logue; D Fitzell, D Dineen, B Murphy; S Weit, D Collins, P Costello; J Griffin, P Kelly; M O'Leary, S Nolan, C Harty; M Boyle, P Boyle, K Carmody. Subs: J Egan for O'Leary (31 mins), P Lucid for Kelly (56-60 blood), J Flaherty for Egan (57), T Casey for Carmody (64), P Lucid for Harty (66), A Royle for Weir (69).

P Collins; S Power, T Doyle, A Price; G Greville, A Clarke, L Varley; E Price, J Clarke; A Devine, B Murtagh, R Greville; N O'Brien, D McNicholas, D Clinton. Subs: A Craig for A Price (16 mins), C Boyle for Varley (h-t), A McGrath for J Clrke (47), N Dowdall for Devine (54), E Corrigan for O'Brien (61).
Referee: Tony Carroll (Offaly)
Report: Courtesy of Declan Rooney GAA.ie

Kerry Senior Hurling Team V Westmeath AHL Div 2A Final

The Kerry Senior Hurling Team to play Westmeath  in the Division 2A Final  of the Allianz Hurling League at the Gaelic Grounds  on Saturday at 3:00 pm shows 3 changes from the side who defeated London in their final group game. James Logue comes into goal instead of Stephen Murphy, Dougie Fitzell returns to the full back line in place of Tommy Casey and up front, Keith Carmody replaces John Egan at corner forward.

The team lines out as follows:

1          James Logue               Ballingarry (Tiobraid Árann)

2          Dougie Fitzell             Kilmoyley

3          Paud Costelloe           Ballyduff

4          Bryan Murphy                       Causeway

5          Sean Weir                   Crotta O’Neills

6          Darren Dineen           St Brendans

7          Daniel Collins             Kilmoyley

8          John Griffin    (c)        Lixnaw

9          Patrick Kelly               Clarecastle (An Clár)

10        Michael O’Leary         Abbeydorney

11        Shane Nolan              Crotta O’Neills

12        Colm Harty                 Causeway

13        Mikey Boyle               Ballyduff

14        Padraig Boyle             Ballyduff

15        Keith Carmody           Causeway

Fir Ionaid:

16        Stephen Murphy       Causeway

17        Tommy Casey             Causeway

18        John Egan                   St Brendans

19        James Flaherty           Lixnaw

20        Rory Horgan               St Brendans

21        Philip Lucid                Ballyheigue

22        Giles O’Grady             Ballyduff

23        Brendan  O’Leary       Abbeydorney

24        Adrian Royle              Kilmoyley

25        Darragh Shanahan    Lixnaw


Manager:                    Eamonn Kelly (Kildangan, Tiobraid Árann)

Coach/Selector:         Conor Gleeson (Boherlahan- Dualla, Tiobraid Árann)

Selectors:                    D. J. Leahy (Causeway), Tom O’Connell (Abbeydorney)

Physical Trainer:        Damien Ryall (Abbeydorney)

Kerry Hurlers in AHL Division 2 Final

Best of luck to the Kerry senior hurlers in the Final of Division 2A of the Allianz Hurling League against Westmeath on this Saturday, 4th April at the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick where there will be a 3.00p.m. throw in. Kerry will be seeking their second win in a row in this competition and John Griffin (Lixnaw) is the Kerry captain.

Kerry have played 5 games en route to Saturday’s final, including a Round 3 game where their opponents on Sunday came out on top by five goals. Kerry recovered well to defeat Carlow away and with Westmeath defeating Carlow in their final game, Kerry’s impressive victory over London earned them a final place and a chance at redemption.

Results to date:

Rd. 1 Kerry      0-14     Derry               0-14

Rd. 2 Wicklow             1-6       Kerry               2-20

Rd. 3 Kerry      0-12     Westmeath       3-18

Rd. 4 Carlow   3-17     Kerry               1-24

Rd. 5 Kerry      3-17     London                        2-10