fb twitter yt

Kerry Hurlers Lose to Westmeath 2015-03-08 20:05:00

Allianz Hurling League Div 2A – Round 3

Kerry 0 – 12 Westmeath 3 – 18

Kerry suffered a heavy defeat in this Round 3 Allianz Hurling League game at Austin Stack Park on Sunday. Indeed Westmeath looked the hungrier and most skilful team all through and were well worth their 15 point winning margin.

Kerry made three changes to the published team with Padraig Boyle replacing John Griffin , Daniel Collins on for Paud Costello  and Giles O'Grady replacing Dougie Fitzell.

The first 15 minutes, after which the sides were level at 2 points each, were quite competitive and gave no indication of what was to come. Westmeath slowly pulled away with a number  of well worked points. Significantly Kerry’s Keith Carmody, having earlier scored an excellent long range point, received a straight red card for an unfortunate mis-timed pull on 28 minutes and this was followed by a Westmeath goal from Brendan Murtagh on 30 minutes. This changed the game completely and at the break the visitors led by 1 - 7 to 0 - 6.

Kerry rallied somewhat on the resumption and points from Padraig Boyle (a ’65) and Shane Nolan left just a goal between them on 45 minutes, 1 - 8 to 0 - 8. However 2 Westmeath goals in the 47th  and 50th minutes from Darragh Clinton and Alan Devine put daylight between the sides and Kerry were unable to respond. Westmeath showed greater fitness and accuracy as Kerry wilted and went away rather easily and unexpectedly with the 2 league points.

Kerry travel to Carlow on Sunday next for Round 4 (12:00).


The Kerry Senior Hurling Team to play Westmeath in Round 3 of the Allianz Hurling League at Austin Stack Park on Sunday at 1pm is unchanged from the side that started against Wicklow. St Brendans players, Darren Dineen, John Egan and Rory Horgan have rejoined the panel and are included in the substitutes list.

The team lines out as follows:


1          James Logue               Ballingarry (Tiobraid Árann)

2          Dougie Fitzell             Kilmoyley

3          Patrick Kelly               Clarecastle (An Clár)

4          Paud Costelloe           Ballyduff

5          Darragh Shanahan    Lixnaw

6          Bryan Murphy                       Causeway

7          Thomas Casey                        Causeway

8          John Griffin    (c)        Lixnaw

9          Philip Lucid                Ballyheigue

10        Shane Nolan              Crotta O’Neills

11        Sean Weir                   Crotta O’Neills

12        Adrian Royle              Kilmoyley

13        Mikey Boyle               Ballyduff

14        Michael O’Leary         Abbeydorney

15        Keith Carmody           Causeway

Fir Ionaid:

16        Stephen Murphy       Causeway

17        Padraig Boyle            Ballyduff

18        Daniel Collins             Kilmoyley

19        Darren Dineen           St Brendans

20        John Egan                   St Brendans

21        James Flaherty           Lixnaw

22        Colm Harty                 Causeway

23        Rory Horgan               St Brendans

24        Paul McGrath             Causeway

25        Giles O’Grady             Ballyduff

26        Brendan  O’Leary       Abbeydorney



Manager:                    Eamonn Kelly (Kildangan, Tiobraid Árann)

Coach/Selector:         Conor Gleeson (Boherlahan- Dualla, Tiobraid Árann)

Physical Trainer:        Damien Ryall (Abbeydorney)

Selectors:                    D. J. Leahy (Causeway), Tom O’Connell (Abbeydorney)