fb twitter yt

Kerry Salvage Draw in Tralee 2015-02-15 19:46:00

Allianz Hurling League Div 2A

Kerry Salvage Draw in Tralee

Kerry 0-14           Derry 0-14

After dominating the opening half, after which they had a five points lead that did not flatter them in the slightest, Kerry had to rely on a pointed free in the third minute of injury time to salvage a draw against a resurgent Derry side at Austin Stack Park today.

Kerry got the best possible start and reeled off six points without reply in the opening 18 minutes including fine scores from distance from Philip Lucid (2), Michael O’Leary and Shane Nolan with Nolan also converting two frees in that period. Derry had their opening point in the 20th minute from a free from the influential Paddy Henry and as the half wore on, the northern side came more into the game. Mikey Boyle and Philip Lucid, with his third from play, had Kerry 8 to 2 ahead by the 27th minute but Derry were beginning to find their range from frees in particular and despite three good points from play from Shane Nolan (2)and a fine effort from Adrian Royle, Kerry led by just five at the break, 11 to 6.

The home following were expecting Kerry to drive on in the second half but it was Derry who took the game to their opponents and they added 4 points before Kerry had their opening score of the half when Shane Nolan pointed a free in the 52nd minute to give Kerry a 12 points to 10 lead. Philip Lucid added his fourth from play seven minutes later but Derry responded in style to draw level and took the lead for the first time in the 71st minute from a free. However in one last gasp attack, Shane Nolan saved the day with that pointed free in the 73rd minute to get a deserved draw from a match that they seemed to be well in control of at the break.

Kerry had 16 wides during the course of the game and this squandermania very nearly cost them both points. They play Wicklow on Sunday next in Round 2 in Aughrim (1pm).

Scorers Kerry: Shane Nolan 0-7 (4fr), Philip Lucid 0-4, Mikey Boyle, Adrian Royle and Michael O’Leary 0-1 each.

Subs: Thomas Casey for Anthony Fealy, Rickey Heffernan for Colm Harty and Giles O’Grady for Carmody.

The Kerry Senior Hurling Team to play Derry in the opening round of the Allianz Hurling League at Austin Stack Park on Sunday at 2pm lines out as follows:

1          James Logue               Ballingarry (Tiobraid Árann)

2          Bryan Murphy                       Causeway

3          Patrick Kelly               Clarecastle (An Clár)

4          Dougie Fitzell            Kilmoyley

5          Paud Costelloe           Ballyduff

6          Anthony Fealy                       Causeway

7          Sean Weir                   Crotta O’Neills

8          John Griffin                Lixnaw

9          Philip Lucid                Ballyheigue

10        Mikey Boyle               Ballyduff

11        Colum Harty               Causeway

12        Adrian Royle              Kilmoyley

13        Shane Nolan              Crotta O’Neills

14        Michael O Leary         Abbeydorney

15        Keith Carmody           Causeway

Fir Ionaid:

16        Stephen Murphy       Causeway

17        Padraig Boyle            Ballyduff

18        Thomas Casey                        Causeway

19        James Flaherty           Lixnaw

20        Ricky Heffernan         Lixnaw

21        Paul McGrath            Causeway

22        Giles O’Grady            Ballyduff

23        Brendan  O’Leary       Abbeydorney

24        Darragh Shanahan    Lixnaw


Manager:                    Eamonn Kelly (Kildangan, Tiobraid Árann)

Coach/Selector:         Conor Gleeson (Boherlahan- Dualla, Tiobraid Árann)

Physical Trainer:        Damien Ryall (Abbeydorney)

Selectors:                    D. J. Leahy (Causeway), Tom O’Connell (Abbeydorney)  

James Logue is an All Ireland medallist at Minor, Under 21 and Intermediate level with his native Tipperary and has also represented the County at Senior grade being 3rd choice goalkeeper in 2014. He is a member of the Ballingarry club.

Patrick Kelly, a Clare native whose mother hails from North Kerry, was a member of Davy Fitzgerald’s Senior All Ireland winning squad in 2013. He is also the holder of All Ireland medals at Under 21 and Intermediate levels.

Confirmation that the game is at 1pm by agreement with Derry, Coke Pk and Kerry GAA

The Kerry senior hurlers commence their 2015 Allianz Hurling League Division 2A on this Sunday, 15th February. Venue will be Austin Stack Park where there will be an earlier than usual throw in time of 12.30p.m. This is to facilitate the travel arrangements of the Derry team. Hurling supporters are requested to come along and support the team. Admission is €10 and all under 16’s are free.

The 2015 management team consists of manager Eamon Kelly (Kildangan, Co. Tipperary), selectors Tom O’Connell (Abbeydorney) and D.J. Leahy (Causeway and coach Conor Gleeson (Boherlahan/Dualla, Tipperary). The 2015 Kerry senior hurling captain is John Griffin (Lixnaw).