fb twitter yt

Brosna bid to see fairy-tale come true 2015-02-10 08:26:00

Ardfert  & Brosna go in search of All Ireland Club glory

All roads lead to Croke Park on Saturday next as Ardfert and Brosna make a double St Valentine’s day assault on the All Ireland Club Championships. Both clubs will no doubt have tasted the fruits of victory along the route and money cannot buy the wonderful uplift such success brings to the local community.

AIB GAA Football Junior Club Championship Final

Brosna bid to see fairy-tale come true

Brosna’s progression to the All Ireland Junior final on Saturday is one of fairy-tale proportions. Like their counterparts Ardfert, in the Intermediate Final, Brosna would have been very unlikely contenders for the Kerry title this time last year. In the first Round, Brosna travelled to Tarbert and came away with victory by the minimum margin and then accounted for a fancied Templenoe side by the same margin in the quarter finals. All the while, Glenbeigh-Glencar were everyone’s favourites to go all the way, but Brosna surprised even themselves to set up a final meeting with Dromid Pearses. The North Kerry side defied the odds once again in the final to lift the Con Brosnan Cup and then accounted for Cork’s best, Millstreet before a huge crowd on home soil to qualify for the Munster final. They accounted for the stubborn challenge set by Glin in that final before eventually surviving against the Ulster standard bearers Rock St Pats of Tyrone after a draw, extra time and a replayed encounter that tested the nerves of the bravest Brosna followers.

This Brosna voyage has come through many uncharted waters on their way to Croke Park – and survived. Their opponents, John Mitchels of Lancashire, have been to this stage before, going down by the minimum margin to Skellig Rangers in 200. Jimmy Keane and his backroom team have brought this team a long way; on the field the players have responded overcoming injury setbacks on the way; lets hope the Brosna voyage comes to a glorious conclusion in Croke Park. Throw-in is 3pm.

Brosna – A Little Bit of History

Brosna GAA Club is situated in North Kerry on the Kerry/Cork/Limerick border. The first known records of the club date back to Nov. 4th 1888 where a branch of the GAA was formed known then as Brosna (Erin’s Pride) branch. There are records of Brosna teams competing as far back as the 1930’s and further  and the club was reformed in the early 1970’s.  Brosna, who joined the NK  Football Board in 1975, won its first county championship title in 1985 when they defeated Churchill in the Novice Final and it’s 25 years since Brosna won the county Junior title in ‘89 defeating Knocknagoshel after a replay. The Novice championship title was won again in 2011 defeating Scartaglen a year they went on to win the Munster Novice title. Since being founded, Brosna have played in all divisions of the senior county league except Division 1 and players have represented the county at every grade over the years.

In North Kerry, the club won its first Divison 1 League title in 2010 defeating Tarbert in the final, they won three U21 Championship titles in the 1980’s and recently, three more with Brosna/Knocknagoshel. They have won a few senior Division 2 titles and 5 NK Junior championships but have yet to win the senior championship.

Brosna’s club facilities were officially opened in 1996 by Joe McDonagh, GAA President elect at the time. The club currently boasts one of the finest grounds in the county following years of continuous development and  recently embarked on an ambitious project purchasing and developing a new training pitch adjoining the current field. The Club Lotto, one of the first in the county, continues to provide a vital income.


2002       Drumgoon (Cavan)                          1-14       Belumllet (Mayo)                            0-12

2003       Nobber (Meath)                              2-13       Kilmeena (Mayo)                             1-13

2004       Wolfe Tones (Meath)                    0-14       Carbery Rangers (Cork)                                 0-10

2005       Finuge (Kerry)                                   1-14       Stewartstown Harps (Tyrone)    0-6

2006       Ardfert (Kerry)                                  1-7          Loughrea (Galway)                          0-9

2007       Greencastle (Tyrone)                     0-13       Duagh (Kerry)                                    0-12      

2008       Canovee (Cork)                                                1-8          Rock (Tyrone)                                    0-5

2009       Skellig Rangers (Kerry)                   0-10       John Mitchels (Lancashire)          0-9

2010       Castlegregory (Kerry)                     1-14       Kiltimagh (Mayo)                             0-15

2011       St Mary’s Cahirciveen (Kerry)     3-13       St Mary’s Swanlinbar (Cavan)     1-5

2012       Naomh Pádraig Clonbur (Galw) 1-8         Derrytresk (Tyrone)                        1-7

2013       Ballinasloe (Galway)                       0-14       Kenmare (Kerry)                              0-10

2014       Two Mile House (Kildare)             5-7          Fuerty (Roscommon)                     1-11