fb twitter yt

Waterford Crystal Cup -Kerry V UCC Match Report 2015-01-18 18:15:00

Waterford Crystal Cup

Kerry 2-14 UCC 2-23

Kerry made their exit from the Waterford Crystal Cup when going down to UCC in the quarter final tie in heavy and trying conditions at Tralee’s Austin Stack Parkon Saturday last. Kerry, who lined out with Stephen Murphy between the posts, got off to a flying start and led by 6 points to 2 after just 15 minutes following 2 fine points from Michael O’Leary and 4 from the stick of Shane Nolan, but then the home-side  passed up a great chance of a goal when Shane Nolan’s one-on-one penalty was saved by David O’Gorman in the 25th minute. Having survived that let-off, the Cork College went on to score 9 points without reply in the remaining 10 minutes of the half with Alan Cadogan and Barry Lawton excelling, to lead by 0-12 to 0-6 at the break.

Kerry got the perfect start to the second half when two goals in quick succession from Padraig Boyle and Adrian Royle that had the sides on level terms, 2-7 to 0-13 by the 39th minute. UCC, with corner backs, Kilian Burke and Michael Breen impressive,  tacked on 6 points by the 49th minute before Midleton’s Brian Hartnett found the net and when Shane O’Keeffe added another goal in the 57th minute the Cork side were 10 points clear 2-10 to 2-10.

Kerry did not throw in the towel and added 4 points in the remaining time, including two from impressive sub Colm Harty, but UCC it is who advance to play Limerick in the semi final next weekend.

Scorers: Kerry; Shane Nolan 0-8 (6fr), Adrian Royle 1-1, Padraig Boyle 1-0, Michael O’Leary 0-3, Colm Harty 0-2. UCC; Alan Cadogan and Barry Lawton (3fr) 0-6 each, Rob O’Shea (2fr) and Eoghan Finn 0-4 each, Brian Hartnett and Shane O’Keeffe 1-0 each, Killian Burke 0-2 and Michael Breen 0-1.



The Kerry Senior Hurling Team to play UCC in the Qtr Final of the Waterford Crystal Cup on Saturday in Austin Stack Park Tralee at 1:30 is as follows:

1          James Logue                          Ballingarry/Tipperary

2          Dougie Fitzell                         Kilmoyley

3          Anthony Fealy                       Causeway

4          Bryan Murphy                      Causeway

5          Paud Costelloe                       Ballyduff

6          Patrick Kelly                          Clarecastle/Clare

7          Sean Weir                              Crotta

8          John Griffin                          Lixnaw (Capt)

9          Thomas Casey                       Causeway

10        Brendan  O’Leary                 Abbeydorney

11        Mikey Boyle                           Ballyduff

12        Adrian Royle                         Kilmoyley

13        Shane Nolan                          Crotta O’Neills

14        Michael O’Leary                   Abbeydorney

15        Padraig Boyle                        Ballyduff

Fir Ionaid

16        Stephen Murphy                   Causeway

17        Colm Harty                            Causeway

18        Paul McGrath                       Causeway

19        Keith Carmody                     Causeway

20        Philip Lucid                           Ballyheigue

21        Gearoid O’Doherty               Crusheen/Clare

22        Giles O’Grady                       Ballyduff



Bainisteoir:                 Eamon Kelly 

Coach/Selector:         Conor Gleeson          

Treánalaí:                  Damien Ryall

Roghnoirí:                  Tom O’Connell (Abbeydorney), D.J. Leahy(Causeway) 



Ø      James Logue is an All Ireland medallist at Minor, Under 21 and Intermediate level with his native Tipperary and has also represented the County at Senior grade being 3rd choice goalkeeper in 2014. He is a member of the Ballingarry club.

Ø      Patrick Kelly, a Clare native whose mother hails from North Kerry, was a member of Davy Fitzgerald’s Senior All Ireland winning squad in 2013. He is also the holder of All Ireland medals at Under 21 and Intermediate levels.

Ø      Gearoid O’Doherty is currently attached to the Crusheen Club in Clare with whom he has won a Senior Hurling Championship medal and he has also featured for Clare at underage level. He is currently working in Tralee and will also be transferring his Club allegiance to the county.





Kerry’s first competitive senior inter county hurling game of 2015 will take place on this Saturday, 17th January when they take on U.C.C. in the quarter final of the Waterford Crystal Cup. Venue is Austin Stack Park where there will be a 1.30p.m. throw in. Admission to the game is just €5 with all under 16’s free.

The 2015 management team consists of manager Eamon Kelly (Kildangan, Co. Tipperary) and selectors Tom O’Connell (Abbeydorney) and D.J. Leahy (Causeway). A new coach has come on board this year, Conor Gleeson from the Boherlahan/Dualla club in Tipperary. The 2015 Kerry senior hurling captain will be John Griffin (Lixnaw).

Kerry will commence their Allianz National Hurling League campaign on Sunday, 15 February with a home game against Derry.