fb twitter yt

IT Tralee win local derby-McGrath Cup 2015-01-11 18:56:00

Munster GAA McGrath Cup

IT Tralee win local derby

IT Tralee 4-12     Kerry 0-16

Goals they say win games and so it proved at a cold Austin Stack Park today as IT Tralee defeated an experimental Kerry side thanks to three second half majors. The first half had been a pretty even affair and the winners enjoyed a one point lead at the break. Kerry resumed in determined fashion to forge a four points lead but thereafter the losers were restricted to just three scores despite playing with a strong wind.

IT had first use of the wind but Kerry it was who enjoyed a one point lead at the end of the first quarter (4 points to 3) following some very poor shooting by the winners that saw them kick four wides in the first four minutes alone. However, Gavin O’Shea then released Conor Keane with a quick pass and Keane gave Shane Murphy no chance from close range in the 16th minute. Keane and Jack Savage followed with points but Kerry then came into the game scoring 5 points on the trot, all from different players, to regain the lead by the 30thminute. However, the local Austin Stacks players, Denis McElligott and Ciarán O’Connell had good points for IT to send the college side to the break a point to the good, 1-6 to 0-8.

Wind assisted, and with Colin McGillicuddy giving them the midfield edge, Kerry began the second half in whirlwind fashion knocking over 5 points in eleven minutes but IT had served notice of what was to come as early as the 2nd minute of the half when Conor Keane set up Ciarán O’Connell but the Stacks man was denied by a great save by Shane Murphy in the Kerry goal. The goal did come however when Conor Keane converted a penalty in the 46th minute and two further points by Padraig O’Shea and Keane gave IT a lead they never surrendered. Good work along the end line saw Keane set up O’Shea for IT’s third goal in the 52nd minute and from there to the end the college side dominated proceedings restricting Kerry to 3 points in the final 24 minutes of the half. Full forward Peter Nash put the result beyond doubt four minutes from time with IT’s fourth goal.

So IT Tralee now face UCC (who were victors over Limerick 4-16 to 3-9)in the McGrath Cup semi final next weekend.

Scorers: Tralee IT; Conor Keane 2-5 (1-2 frees), Padraig O’Shea 1-1, Jack Savage 0-3 (1fr), Peter Nash 1-0, Ciarán O’Connell, Denis McElligott and Cillian Cromwell 0-1 each. Kerry; Gavan O’Grady 0-3 (fr), Gary Sayers and James Crean (1fr) 0-2 each. Colin McGillicuddy, Adam Barry, Kevin McCarthy, Tom O’Sullivan, Michéal Burns and Liam Carey 0-1 each.

Both sides lined out with one change to their selected line-ups; Tom O’Sullivan replaced Paul Kennelly for Kerry and Padraig Quille replaced Damien Somers on the IT side.

Subs: Tralee IT: Padraig O’Shea for Quille, Sean Flynn for Egan, Alan Moriarty for Savage, Conor O’Brien for O’Connell,  Jason Brennan for Denis McElligott.

Kerry: Brian Ó Beaglaoich for Maher, Paul Kennelly for Crean, Liam Carey for C. Ó Beaglaoich, Killian Spillane for A. Barry, Micheál Burns for Shane O’Connor.

The Kerry  team to play IT Tralee  in the Munster GAA McGrath Cup Qtr Final in Austin Stack Park Tralee on Sunday at 2pm is as follows:

1          Shane Murphy                        Kilcummin

2          Sean T. Dillon                          St Senans

3          Caoimhín Ó Beaglaoich          An Ghaeltacht

4          Donal Maher                           Kilcummin

5          Paul McMahon                        St Pats

6          Tadhg Morley                          Templenoe

7          Shane O’Connor                      John Mitchels

8          Conor McGillicuddy                 Glenbeigh/Glencar

9          Jack Barry                                Na Gaeil

10        Adam Barry                             Brosna

11        James Crean                            Annascaul

12        Gary Sayers                             Keel

13        Kevin McCarthy                       Kilcummin

14        Gavan O’Grady                       Glenbeigh/Glencar

15        Paul Kennelly                          Ballydonoghue

Fir Ionaid:

16        Padraig McCarthy                   Rathmore

17        Brian Crowley                          Templenoe

18        Brian Ó Beaglaoich                 An Ghaeltacht

19        Dara Roche                             Glenflesk

20        Micheál Burns                         Dr Crokes

21        Matthew Flaherty                    Dingle

22        Liam Carey                              Beaufort

23        Cormac Coffey                                    Kerins O’Rahillys

24        Cathal Murphy                        Rathmore

25        Tom O’Sullivan                        Dingle

26        Killian Spillane                                    Templenoe

27        Cillian Fitzgerald                     Churchill

28        Tom Ladden                            Keel


Bainisteoir:     Darragh Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)

Trainer/Selector:       Ciarán McCabe

Selectors:        Seamus Moynihan (Glenflesk), John Shanahan (Valentia)

IT Tralee Team V Kerry

1              Shane Kenny                     Castlegregory   

2              Mark Egan                           Dr. Crokes          

3              Gavin Crowley                  Templenoe       

4              Jason Lyne                          Dr. Crokes          

5              Denis McElligott               Austin Stacks    

6              Cian Horan                          Glenflesk           

7              Cillian Cromwell              Carrick Emmetts (Monaghan)    

8              Damien Somers                                St. Senans          

9              George Bastible               John Mitchels   

10           Ciaran O’Connell             Austin Stacks    

11           Conor Keane                      Legion 

12           Alan Duggan                      Austin Stacks    

13           Gavin O’Shea                     Dr. Crokes          

14           Peter Nash                         Kildimo/Pallaskenry (Limerick)

15           Jack Savage                        Kerins O’Rahillys

Fir Ionaid:          

16           Daniel Mann                      Donard-Glen (Wicklow)

17           Padraig Quille                   St. Senans          

18           Padraig O’Shea                 Currow

19           Sean Flynn                          Buttevant (Cork)

20           Jason Brennan                  St. Molaise Gaels (Sligo)

21           Alan Moriarty                    Legion  Kerry

22           Conor O’Brien                   St. Josephs Doora/Barefield (Clare)

23           Darren Wallace                 Ardfert


Bainisteoir: Noel Kennelly

Roghnoirí: Mark Bourke, Alan O’Donoghue

GAA Development Officer: Eamon Fitzgerald

Sponsor: Kingscourt Student Appartments