fb twitter yt

Minor & Senior Victory Banquet 2014 2014-12-20 13:45:00

Memorable Night as Double All Ireland heroes receive their All Ireland Medals

Well the curtain came down on the 2014 GAA Football Championship season with the presentation of medals to the minor and senior players at a memorable occasion in the INEC last evening. With Uachtarán CLG Liam O’Neill, and Cathoirleach Comhairle na Mumhan, Robert Frost in attendance, following a team photo, both squads were led into the dining room by a lone piper to a rapturous standing ovation.
Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh, was, as usual, the ever efficient M.C. for the night and speakers included County Committee Chairman, Patrick O’Sullivan; Director of Corporate Affairs of Kerry Group, Frank Hayes, Minor and Senior Managers, Jack O’Connor and Eamonn Fitzmaurice respectively, senior captain Kieran O’Leary and Liam O’Neill.
The senior players were presented with their medals by Liam O’Neill, while the Chairman of the Munster Council, Robert Frost, did the honours for the minor players none of whom were born when Kerry last won the Minor title! Presentations were made to both team managers and their backroom staff
1980 was the last time Kerry achieved the Minor and Senior double and at that time, it was thought that such occasions would come along regularly so little wonder than that everyone, especially the players had a ball!​

Check out some photos from the night on our Gallery which will be added to during the week.