fb twitter yt

Brosna into Junior Club Final 2014-11-02 21:27:00

Castleisland Mart Junior Football Championship Semi Final
Brosna 1-8 Glenbeigh-Glencar 0-10

Brosna caused an upset at Fitzgerald Stadium on Saturday when scoring a late late goal to deny Glenbeigh Glencar and earn themselves a place in the Castleisland Mart Junior football championship final on Saturday next against Dromid Pearses.

Scores were hard to come by initially and we had to wait till the 10th minute for the first score of the game but then Glenbeigh had 3 points in as many minutes, including two from Jeremiah Hoare. Hoare added another before Brosna opened their account from a Tom McGoldrick free in the 24th minute and the North Kerry side added two more from McGoldrick and captain Don McAuliffe to cut the deficit to a point approaching the break, However, Gavan O’Grady converted a free and then Darran O’Sullivan and Pa Kilkenny had two good scores in injury time to leave Glenbeigh four points to the good at the interval, 7 points to 3.

We saw a different Brosna side emerge after the break and they had two quick scores from Adam Barry and a Tom McGoldrick free to half the deficit within five minutes of the restart. Darran O’Sullivan responded with a great score from the wing for Glenbeigh but Brosna were dominating possession and a point from a free and from play by Tom McGoldrick left just a point between the sides at the three quarter stage. Brosna were then dealt a blow when their captain Don McAulliffe was black carded in the 46th minute and Glenbeigh regained the initiative for a while with Colin McGillicuddy pointing to put them 2 clear with seven minutes left on the clock but after Gavan O’Grady hit the post from a long range free Darran O’Sullivan was black carded in the 53rd minute. That unsettled Glenbeigh but after Gavan O’Grady dropped a very scoreable free short, Pa Kilkenny finished a fine run with a rousing score in the 59th minute, Three up and heading into injury time, Glenbeigh seemed to be on their way but Dave Curtin hit an immediate response for Brosna and then two minutes into injury time, Shane Curtin seemed to be the one who rose highest to an inviting centre from Tom McGoldrick to flick the ball to an empty net to give victory to Brosna.
The winners will now play Dromid Pearses in the final on Saturday evening next (2.30pm) at a venue to be decided at Monday night’s meeting of the CCC.
Brosna: Tom McGoldrick 0-5 (4fr), Shane Curtin 1-0, Dave Curtin Don McAuliffe and Adam Barry 0-1 each.
Glenbeigh-Glencar: Jerh Hoare 0-3, Pa Kilkenny 0-2, Darran O’Sullivan 0-2, Tommy Cahill and Gavan O’Grady (Fr) 0-1 each.