fb twitter yt

3 pieces of Silverware for Development squads 2014-07-17 11:39:00

On a week when Kerry captured the Senior, Junior and minor Munster titles, the Kerry Football Development squads also brought home three pieces of silverware. In Millstreet, the Kerry South U15 squad retained the Humprey Kelleher Cup while in Rathkeale the Kerry South U16 squad captured the Shield title and in Dungarvan Kerry South were victorious in the Plate final.

The Kerry North and Kerry South U14 squads made the long trip to Dungarvan and both advanced through the group stages of the Jim Power Memorial Tournament to take their place in finals. The Kerry North team lost out in the Cup final, coming up against a very strong Cork East team while in the Plate final Kerry South had a comfortable victory over Limerick on a scoreline of 3-06 to 0-07.

In the Humphrey Kelleher Memorial tournament both Kerry North and Kerry South had good wins over Tipperary and Clare respectively at the quarter final stage to set up meetings with the two Cork teams participating in the tournament. Kerry North just came up short in their semi-final clash with Cork West as they went down on a scoreline of 3-04 to 1-12 while Kerry South had four points to spare in their semi-final victory over Cork East on a scoreline of 3-14 to 3-10. Onto the Cup final versus Cork West for Kerry South and here they really turned on the style and class and came away with a highly impressive victory scoring six goals in the process, limiting Cork West to just one goal in the first half before finally finishing the game on a scoreline of Kerry South 6-18 v Cork West 4-08.

In the Munster U16 Tournament held in Limerick there were both Kerry North and Kerry South came up short in their opening games. Despite dominating possession Kerry North couldn’t find the target on the day and lost out to the eventual Cup final winners Tipperary. Kerry South meanwhile rallied well in the second half of their opening game against Corcaigh but Corcaigh’s goal scoring power ensure they advanced in the Cup competition as the game finished Kerry South 0-15 v Corcaigh 4-11. Kerry South then faced up against Kerry North in the Shield semi-final and they were too strong for Kerry North on the day and marched onto the Shield Final where they had a comfortable victory over Waterford finishing with a score of 2-11 to 0-04.

County Coaching Officer, Eamon Whelan, expressed his thanks to all the development squad management teams and the parents for their continued support for our up and coming county players.

The squads for the weekend were:
U16 Kerry South Panel
Cormac Leane (Milltown/ Castlemaine), Mike Breen (Beaufort), Niall Brennan (St. Mary's), Darren Casey (St. Mary's), Jamie Clifford (Laune Rangers), Billy Courtney (Dr. Crokes), Patrick Daly (Laune Rangers), Dean Fitzgerald (Rathmore), JJ Herlihy (Gneeveguilla), Aaron Morris (Tuosist), Dara Moynihan (Spa), Peter McCarthy (Legion), David Naughton (Dr. Crokes), Daniel O'Brien (Glenflesk), Connie O'Connor (Gneeveguilla), Donal O'Neill (Glenbeigh/ Glencar), Jamie O'Donoghue (Kilcummin), Cathal O'Shea (Firies), Sean O'Shea (Kenmare Shamrocks), Graham O'Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), Shane O'Sullivan (Gneeveguilla), Mark Ryan (Rathmore), Darragh Sugrue (Tuosist), Caoilam Teehan (Glenbeigh/ Glencar)

U16 Kerry North Panel
Shane Foley (Kerins O'Rahillys), Johnny O Sullivan (Beale), Michael Heaphy (Tarbert), Niall Collins (Listowel Emmets), Mikey Boyle (Daingean Uí Chuis), Karl Mullin (Kerins O'Rahillys), Seamus Looney (Na Gaeil), Bryan Sweeney (Listowel Emmets), Iarla Courtney (Ardfert), Micheal Reidy (Ballymacelligott), Micheal Foley (Captain) (Ballydonoghue), Tom Hoare (Kerins O'Rahillys), Gearoid Savage (Kerins O'Rahillys), Cormac Linnane (Beale), Shane Conway (Finuge), David O Dowd (Castlegregory), Sam Tarrant (Listowel Emmets), Brian Mason (Ballydonoghue), Fergal O Cuanaig (An Ghaeltacht), Alex Fleming (Currow), Colin Sheehy (Finuge), Sean O Hara (Annascaul), Kieran O'Donoghue (Cordal), Jack McCarthy (Ardfert)

U15 Kerry South Panel
Neil Doherty (Dr. Crokes), Cian O'Callaghan (Firies), Lorcan McMonagle (Dr. Crokes), Oran O'Donoghue (Glenflesk), Patrick Warren (Gneeveguilla), Michael Potts (Dr. Crokes), Cian Gammell (Legion), Niall O'Donoghue (Firies), Chris O'Donoghue (Glenflesk), Jack Griffin (Dr. Crokes), Brian Friel (Rathmore), Fiachra Clifford (Laune Rangers), Mark Hartnett (Dr. Crokes), David Clifford (Fossa), Donncha O'Sullivan (Firies), Damian Cronin (Rathmore), Jamie O'Sullivan (Waterville), Aaron McCarthy (Listry), Joe Doyle (Kenmare ), Mark Fitzgerald (Dr. Crokes), Tadhg O'Sullivan (Sneem), Sean O'Leary (Kilcummin), Liam Brosnan (Firies), Hugh Cronin (Gneeveguilla)

U15 Kerry North Panel
Robbie Murphy, Mark Ashe, Jack Behan, Sean Collins, Sean Donnellan, Cathal Ferriter, Dara Goulding, Darrren Horan, Brian Kennedy, Barry Mahoney, Ruadhan McCarthy, Eoghan McElligott, Patrick Moriarty, Sheldon Neil, Brian O'Connor, Kieran Enright, Diarmuid O'Connor, Jimmy O'Grady, Conor O'Keffee, Padraig O'Luanigh, Niall O'Mahony, Ciaran O'Reilly, Kieran Pierse, Daniel Power

U14 Kerry South Panel
Robert Osborne, Oisin O'Connor, Ian McGillicuddy, Ciaran O'Sullivan, Jamie Harrington, Sean O'Neill, Gary Cronin, Sean Cooper, Ryan Sheehan , Josh Fleming , Daire Cleary, Darra O'Connor, Donal O'Sullivan, Dara Fleming , Barry Keane , John Talbot, Stephen McKenna , Jack Enright, Cormac O'Sullivan, Ian Corkery, Jack Hanrahan , Michael Delvin, Niall Sertoutxa, Dylan O'Connor,

U14 Kerry North Panel
Brian O'Regan (Ardfert), Fiachra Ennis (Ardfert), Luka Brosnan (Desmonds), Kieran Ward (Knocknagoshal), Sean Hamilton (Churchill), Dylan Casey (Austin Stacks), Ryan Ward (John Mitchels), Eddie Horan (Scartaglin), Sean O'Connell (Cordal), Deividas Uosis (Dingle), Gearoid Fitzgerald (Austin Stacks), William Goodwin (Castlegregory), Shay Walsh (Scartaglin), Michael Kelliher (John Mitchels), Michael Slattery (Austin Stacks), Eoin Brosnan (Dingle), Daniel Goggins (Na Gaeil), David Shanahan (Desmonds), John Walsh (Knocknagoshal), Rory Murphy (Na Gaeil), Seamus Boyle (Dingle), Dominic Lyons (Kerins O'Rahillys), Joe Looby (Austin Stacks), Josh O'Keeffe (Ballymacelligott)

Management Teams:
U16 Kerry South:
Eddie O'Sullivan, PJ Reidy, Dan McKenna, Noel Kelliher
U16 Kerry North:
Tomas O Muircheartaigh, Colm Whelan, Giles O Grady, Mark Burke
U15 Kerry South:
Sean O'Sullivan, Liam Brosnan, Ronan Hussey, James Foley
U15 Kerry North:
Brian Scanlon, Declan O'Sullivan, Donal Buckley, Brendan McCarthy
U14 Kerry South:
Tommy Brosnan, Brian Hickey, Mark O'Connor, Martin Horgan
U14 Kerry North:
James Costello, Pa McCarthy, Alan O'Donoghue, Brendan Griffin