fb twitter yt

Division 4 Final 2014-05-02 09:23:00

Fossa 3-9 Moyvane/Tarbert 2-7

Fossa were crowned Minor Football League Division 4 champions at a wet Strand Road on Friday evening (2/5/14) proving too strong in the end for a very game North Kerry outfit. Two goals in as many minutes for the winners between the 10th and 12th minutes were the decisive scores in this match and they gave Fossa the cushion to withstand the best that Moyvane/Tarbert could throw at them thereafter.

Two early Andrew Doherty points had Moyvane/Tarbert off the mark soon after the throw in but after David Clifford and Michael O’Keeffe equalised, Paudie Clifford set up his brother David for Fossa’s first goal. Another O’Keeffe point was followed by the second goal with the elder Clifford being the provider once again for his younger sibling. Four unanswered points saw Fossa lead by 2-7 to 0-2 but the losers finished the half on the up with points from Joe Coolstan and two from Andrew Doherty who also rattled the crossbar with a fine shot.
At the break it was 2-7 to 0-5 for Fossa.

The sides were far more evenly matched during the second half following the moving of Eamonn Flaherty from full back to midfield for the losers but Fossa struck for their third goal eight minutes into the new half with Man of the Match, Paudie Clifford again providing the opening, this time for Cillian Bellew and when the Cliffords added a point apiece, Fossa were 13 points clear, 3-9 to 0-5, with twelve minutes gone in the half. However, some fine play from the likes of Eamonn Flaherty, Brian Heaphy, Andrew Doherty and Colin Enright, saw Moyvae/Tarbert whittle away at the lead and two Doherty points were followed by a fine goal from the same player after good work by Colin Enright. Try as they might however they could not make further inroads until the final minute when Brian Heaphy finished a fine move to the net.

After the game, Munster Council Delegate, Christy Killeen presented the Division 4 Shield and the Keanes Supervalu Killorglin Man of the Match trophy to winning captain Paudie Clifford of Fossa.

Teams and Scorers
Fossa: M. Prenderville, K. Brooks, C. Walsh, C. Talbot, J. Coffey, D. Burke, B. Myers, M. Rennie, D. O’Connell (0-1), M. O’Keeffe (0-2), P. Cliufford (0-3), C. Bellew (1-1), D. Clifford (2-1), P. Devane (0-1), C. Murphy. Subs: S. Cronin for C. Murphy, A. Cronin, A. Trant, P. McEnery, O. Sheehan, K. Rice, A. Rennie, P. Burke. 

Moyvane/Tarbert: J. Diggins, C. Holly, E. Flaherty, F. Carrig, J. Stack, S. Carrig, M. Heaphy, B. Heaphy (1-0), S. McDonnell, F. Kissane, A. Doherty (1-6, 0-4Fr), C. Enright, B. Cregan, J. Coolstan (0-1), J. Jones. Subs: P. Ahern for F. Kissane, E. Moore for P. Ahern (Inj), R. O’Sullivan for J. Jones, C. Brosnan, R. McElligott, J. Healy, A. Enright, H. Reynolds.
Referee: Jonathan Griffin (Glenbeigh/Glencar)