fb twitter yt

Kerry Minors also face Cork on Sunday 2014-07-17 11:37:00

The Kerry Minor team are also in action on Sunday against Cork in a game that has an early throw-in of 12 noon. Both sides have had two outings to date with Kerry first accounting for Clare (2-16 to 0-7 and then Tipperary (2-18 to 0-7). Cork had a big win over Limerick in their opening game (6-15 to 1-7) before defeating Waterford in the semi final (1-14 to 1-8).

With Tipperary to the fore in recent years, Kerry and Cork have not met in a final since 2010 when Cork prevailed by a single point in Killarney and it is hard to believe that we have to go all the way back to 1994 for Kerry’s last All Ireland title in this grade while Cork fare a little better having last won in 2000. Trainer, Jack O’Connor and his selectors, Michéal Ó Sé, Eamonn Whelan and John Galvin have left no stone unturned in their preparation of the team and hopefully they can retain their title again this year.

The Kerry team named on Tuesday evening showed two changes in personnel from the side that defeated Tipperary in the semi final with Liam Kearney coming into the side at Midfield and also captaining the team.

Kerry V Cork – The Stats

Cork and Kerry last met in a Munster Minor Football Final in 2010 when Cork won by 1-8 to 1-7 at Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney.

Kerry have won their last 4 Munster minor titles by defeating Tipperary in the final. Their last final win against Cork was in 2004.

Cork, Kerry and Tipperary have won at least 1 match in the Munster Minor Football Championship every year since 2001.

Kerry have played 57 matches in the Munster Minor Football Championship since 2000, the most of any county in the province.

Since 1956, Cork and Kerry have won every Munster Minor Football title with the exception of 1984, 1995, 2011 and 2012 when Tipperary were successful.

Kerry Minor Team v Cork Munster Football Final 2014

The Kerry Minor Team to play Cork in the Final of the Electric Ireland Munster GAA Minor Football Championship in Páirc Uí Chaóimh on Sunday shows two changes in personnel from the side that defeated Tipperary in the semi-final .
Cormac Coffey of Kerins O’Rahillys and Liam Kearney of Spa, who captains the side, come into the team in place of Andrew Barry and Jack Morgan.

The team will line out as follows:
1 Shane Ryan Rathmore
2 Brian Sugrue Renard
3 Briain Ó Beaglaíoch An Ghaeltacht
4 Tom O’Sullivan Dingle
5 Mark O’Connor Dingle
6 Dan O’Donoghue Spa
7 Cormac Coffey Kerins O'Rahillys
8 Barry O’Sullivan Dingle
9 Liam Kearney (Capt) Spa
10 Matthew Flaherty Dingle
11 Brian Rayle Lispole
12 Micheál Burns Dr Crokes
13 Jordan Kiely Dr Crokes
14 Killian Spillane Templenoe
15 Tomás Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht
Fir Ionaid
16 Eoin O’Brien Churchill
17 Andrew Barry Na Gaeil
18 Stephen O’Sullivan Templenoe
19 Jack Morgan Austin Stacks
20 Liam Carey Beaufort
21 Roibeárd Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht
22 Ivan Parker Churchill
23 Aaron Murphy Dr Crokes
24 Robert Wharton Renard
Bainisteoir: Jack O’Connor (Dromid Pearses)
Roghnoirí: Micheál O’Shea (Castlegregory), John Galvin (Dr Crokes), Eamon Whelan (St Senans).
Treanalaí: Alan O’Sullivan and Arthur Fitzgerald.

Extended Training Panel Members
Jason Foley Ballydonoghue
John Mark Foley Kilgarvan
Gavin White Dr. Crokes
Jonathan O’Sullivan Milltown C'maine
David Roche Milltown Castlemaine
Conor Geaney Dingle

Rehabbing from Injury:
Cathal Bambury Dingle
Eoin O’Connell St Senans