fb twitter yt

County Senior Hurling Championship - Round 3 2017-08-05 21:38:00

2017 Garvey’s SuperValu Kerry Co. Senior Hurling Championship Round 3

St. Brendan’s 1 - 12 

Abbeydorney 1- 12

A dramatic finish saw St. Brendan’s and Abbeydorney finish all square at Austin Stack Park on Saturday. The Ardfert side was up 5 points, 1 – 12 to 0 – 10 after 58 minutes and looked likely to progress. However a storming finish by Abbeydorney yielded 1 – 2 without reply and sent the tie to a replay.

All this additional scoring happened during the 9 minutes of additional time called by referee, Dermot Kirwan. This was mainly due to an injury to a St. Brendan’s player mid-way through the half which resulted in a long stoppage to play. Firstly a Nigel Roche free reduced the deficit to 4 points in the 61st minute. Then a long ball into the square was finished to the net by David Egan in the 64th minute to leave just a point between the sides. The St. Brendan’s goalkeeper, Darren Delaney, got injured during this play but he was treated and managed to stay on the field. Abbeydorney won the next puck out and Roche obliged to send the ball between the posts for the equaliser in the 66th minute. Tim Hannafin then took over between the posts for the Ardfert side and his puck out was strongly contested out field, at which stage the full time whistle went, to the relief of all present.

These last few minutes redeemed what was a rather pedestrian affair throughout. Scores were level three times during the first half, after which the teams were locked together at 4 points apiece.

They were level again in the 41st and 45th minutes before St. Brendan’s, with a Tim Hannafin goal and a Kevin Skinner point, put them up 4 with 9 minutes remaining. Substitute Padraig O’Mahony made it 5 up on 58 minutes and they looked well on their way. However the never say die attitude of Abbeydorney came to the fore and they deservedly managed to get a replay.


St. Brendan’s: John Egan (0 – 4, 3f), Tim Hannafin (1 - 0), Kevin Skinner (0 – 2), Tom Moloney (0 – 1), Eric Leen (0 -1), David Griffin (0 – 1), Kevin Hannafin (0 – 1), Padraig O’Mahony (0 – 1), Cian Hussey (0 - 1).

Abbeydorney: Nigel Roche (0 – 10, 9f), Aidan Healy (0 – 1), P.J. Keane (0 – 1).

Réiteoir: Diarmuid Kirwan (Corcaigh)