fb twitter yt

SENIOR CO. LEAGUE DIVISION 5 - ROUND 9 - 23/7/2017 2017-07-22 00:52:00

Asdee 2-7 Churchill 1-14

In a pulsating encounter played at Walsh Park, Asdee, the visitors Churchill kept their hopes of promotion back on track with a hard earned win over Asdee, who in fact might rue the many scoring opportunities spurned especially in the first half, that may have given them
a win against all the odds.  However, Churchill who also squandered many scoring opportunities, but were able to get those vital scores when the fat was in the fire.  Asdee got off to a great start and by the 20th minute, points from John Doran, 3 and Michael Tydings had them deservidely ahead;  however Churchill hung in there and wing back J J Prior, who had a fantastic game, came up from his half back position to split the uprights a minute later.   Further points coming from Ivan Parker and Michael O Brien,(2) left the half time score four points all.  

On resumption, it was Churchill who got the better start and after seven minutes went 1-6 to 0-5 ahead, points coming from Sean Dillon and Ivan Parker and a well taken goal from the very impressive Michael O’Brien, set up by Sean Dillon.  Michael Tydings was Asdee’s only reply with a point.  Churchill were now in the driving seat and it took a marvellous save by James Kelly in the Asdee’s goal to deprive Thomas Linnane of what looked a certain goal. Still, Asdee battled on and were rewarded at the end of the third quarter, when Keith McNamara sent a screamer to the roof of the Churchill net.  Sean Keane and Michael O Brien exchanged points, before Eoin Kennedy rounded the keeper to find the net and
level up the game at 2-7 for Asdee, Churchill 1-10.  Again, James Kelly came to his side’s rescue with a top drawer save a minute later.  Asdee did have a chance of going ahead with under seven minutes left for play, but an easy tap over free was off target.  This seemed to spur on Churchill and they added the match winning points from Eoghan O Brien, two 45s, Ivan Parker and centre back Cathal Rodgers.

Teams and scorers; Asdee, James Kelly, Con Carmody, Martin Collins, Conor Keane, Keith McNamara, 1gl, Eoin O Carroll, Sean Keane, 1pt, John Doran, 3pts, Kieran Kelly, Mike Breen, Eoin Kennedy, 1gl, Michael Walsh, Dinny Dalton, Michael Tydings, 2pts, Jack Keane.         Subs, Conor Coughlan for Michael Walsh, Matthew O Hanlon,1pt for Dinny Dalton.

 Churchill; Eoghan O Brien, (2 45s), Des McCarthy, Garrett Walsh, 1pt, Alan McElligott,            T J Prior, 2pts, Cathal Rodgers, 1pt, Kieran Carmody, Mitchel Holland, Matt Finnerty, Sean Dillon, 2pts, Pa McCarthy, Thomas Linnane, Dara O Shea, Ivan Parker, 2pts, Michael O Brien, 1-5, (4fs), Sub Tomas McCarthy for Dara O Shea. Referee, John Ross, Ballyduff.