fb twitter yt

SENIOR CO. LEAGUE DIVISION 5 - ROUND 12 - 25/6/2017 2017-06-25 00:08:00

Ballylongford 2-7 Rathmore B 0-12

Ballylongford got back to winning ways with a hard fought one point win over a fancied East Kerry side.  Played in near perfect conditions, with only a slight cross field breeze to

contend with, it was Ciaran O'Connor who got Ballylongford off to the perfect start with a goal in the first minute after a good attacking move.  The game ebbed and flowed for the next quarter, but it was Rathmore who were doing all the scoring and, by the 15th minute, they had gone two ahead with Denis McCarthy and Mark Reen providing the points.  

Ballylongford had not raised a white flag at this stage and it was midfielder Joe McCarthy, playing outstanding football against much bigger opponents, who scored a pointed free in the 16th minute to narrow the gap.  The two McCarthys exchanged a further two points apiece to leave it level at half time.  Half Time Score:  Ballylongford 0-6 Rathmore B 0-6.

The second half began with Ciaran O;Connor fielding a high ball and kicking over a fine point, to put Ballylongford back in front, only to see it cancelled out two minutes later     with a Mark Reen pointed free.  The game continued at a frantic pace with quick restarts from both sides and matching each other point for point.  A goal at any stage would have

sealed it and Rathmore came close on a couple of occasions, but Paudie Moroney brought off some splendid saves and, at the twenty minute mark, the sides were level once again.

A goal was always going to be an important score in a close game and, in the 27th minute,   it came Ballylongford’s way, when Darren Murphy was fouled in the square and Ciaran O'Connor put away the resultant penalty to put them three ahead.  Rathmore were playing with 14 men for the final ten minutes, as Donnacha McCarthy was red carded for a striking offence,however they piled on the pressure and John O'Keefe and Denis McCarthy kicked over two points, but Ballylongford held out to record a fine victory.

Referee:  Colman Flaherty.

Ballylongford Team:  Paudie Moroney, Kenneth Tydings, Stephen Foley, Sean Carmody, Tadhg McEllistrim, Matt Connor, Padraig O'Neill, Joe McCarthy 0-4, Jack Mulvihill,        Darren Murphy, Jason Deegan, Thomas Doherty, Seanie Kennelly, Ciaran O'Connor 2-3,   Liam McElligott.

Rathmore Team:  Kenneth O Keeffe, Donal Moynihan, Michael Mahony, Tadhg Moynihan, Sean O'Riordan, Colm Kelly, Brian Crowley, Tadhg Mahony, Donnacha McCarthy, Cian

Jenkins, John O'Keeffe 0-1,  JohnHickey 0-1, Denis McCarthy 0-5, Mark Reen 0-4, Jonathan Reen, Sub Michael Kelliher 0-1.