fb twitter yt

SENIOR CO. LEAGUE DIVISION 2 - ROUND 8 2017-07-16 21:03:00

Spa 1-15   Glenflesk 1-15

Both Spa and Glenflesk should be content with a point each after such a closely contested game in Round 8 of the league.  While they were both missing players, a game where the teams were level on ten separate occasions, tells its own tale of two evenly matched sides.   Evan Cronin (2), Aydan Mulvaney, Cormac Cronin and Mike O'Donoghue exchanged scores with Darragh Roche (3), Ciaran O'Mahony and Jeff O'Donoghue to level the teams on 0-5 apiece at the end of the first quarter.  Jeff O'Donoghue had the first goal chance of the day, but his effort rebounded off the crossbar and was cleared from the line by Shane Cronin, but Jeff followed with two points, and Ciaran O'Mahony followed with another, before Mike O'Donoghue, Andrew Garnett and Cormac Cronin replied for Spa. Darragh Roche kicked his fourth point of the day and Evan Cronin replied, before Michael McCarthy edged Spa ahead by the narrowest margin at the break, Spa 0-10 Glenflesk 0-9.

Within seconds of the restart, Shane Cronin buried the ball in the back of the Glenflesk goal and he was part of another move moments later that was cleared by the Glenflesk defence.  Evan Cronin pointed again for Spa, as scores from brothers Darragh and Ian Roche followed, before Steve O’Donoghue led another attack and rattled the Spa net to make it 1-11 apiece.  Injury forced stalwart midfielder Andrew Garnett to retire, before Jeff O'Donoghue and Evan Cronin swapped further points.  A penalty for Glenflesk could have put an end to Spa's hopes, but goalkeeper James Devane had a great block, as Darragh Roche continued to swap points with Mike O'Donoghue, right to the final whistle to keep the game level at 1-15 each.


Spa: James Devane, Brian Lynch, Matthew Moynihan, Eoin Fitzgerald, Shane Cronin, (1-0) Shane Lynch, Eoin Cronin, Andrew Garnett (0-1), Michael McCarthy (0-1), Cormac Cronin (0-2), Ciaran Spillane, David Spillane, Evan Cronin (0-5), Michael O'Donoghue (0-5), Aydan Mulvaney (0-1) Subs: Niall McCarthy, Shane Fenton, Jamie Spillane

Glenflesk: Felim Jacobs, Gary O'Donoghue, Jerry Kennedy, Liam Warren, Ciaran O'Mahony (0-2), James McCarrick, Kieran A O'Donoghue, Padraig Healy, Kieran Murphy, Finian Wall, Jeff O'Donoghue (0-4), Danny Lucey, Gavin Kelly, Darragh Roche (0-8), Ian Roche (0-1). Subs: Stephen O'Donoghue (1-0), Eric O'Donoghue

Referee: Donal Casey (Scartaglin)