fb twitter yt

SENIOR CO. LEAGUE DIVISION 5 - ROUND 5 - 11/6/2017 2017-06-18 21:56:00

Ballylongford 0-14 Tuosist 0-11

Ballylongford maintained their position at the top of Division 5 after a hard fought victory over Tuosist at O'Rahilly Park on Sunday.   Played in wet windy conditions, it was the visitors who hit the ground running and Dara Sugrue was unlucky to see his shot come off the post in the first minute of the game, after linking up with Flor O'Sullivan.  Ballylongford settled and buoyed with the aid of the wind.  Thomas Doherty opened the scoring with a fine point a minute later, and indeed the Ballylongford forwards went on to give an exhibition of long range point scoring, from Joe McCarthy, Liam McElligott and a massive point from Ciaran

O'Connor to leave them seven ahead at half time. Dara Sugrue got three pointed frees for Tuosist and was unlucky to see a second goal attempt come off the crossbar.                       Half Time Score:   Ballylongford 0-10, Tuosist 0-3.

Tuosist started brightly once again and, by the tenth minute, had the gap closed to two, with some equally good points from Dara Sugrue, Flor Sullivan and Thomas Harrington. Ciaran O'Connor did manage to pull one back for Ballylongford in the meantime.  At this stage, all money would be on Tuosist to run out easy winners, but they failed to raise a flag again until the 32nd minute.  This was mainly due to an increased effort by the Ballylongford defence, as James O'Connor and Darren Murphy were more influential in the full back line. While Matt O'Connor, Stephen Foley and Cian Barrett pushed forward at every opportunity. This in turn forced Tuosist back and they began to drop a few shots short and their wide tally also increased.   Matt O’Connor put Ballylongford further ahead after a good run from wing back position in the 14th minute and it was another fourteen minutes before Padraig O'Neill added another to put Ballylongford three ahead with time running out.  Tuosist needed scores and Peter O'Shea, who was excellent throughout, kicked over a fine point. Liam O'Shea and Ciaran O'Connor swapped points bringing an exciting encounter to a close.

Referee:  Peter Curtin. Brosna.

Ballylongford Team:   Paudie Moroney, James O'Connor, Mike McEllistrim, Darren Murphy, Cian Barrett, Stephen Foley, Matt O'Connor 0-1, Joe McCarthy 0-4, Jack Mulvihill, PadraigO'Neill 0-1, Liam McElligott 0-2, Thomas Doherty 0-1, Seanie Kennelly, Michael Hollly, Ciaran O'Connor 0-5.   Subs:  Michael Lynch for Michael Holly, Jason Deegan for Ciaran O'Connor.

Tuosist Team:   Steve Sullivan, Conor Harrington, Morgan Sullivan,  Michael Healy, Sean Healy, Liam O'Shea 0-1, Aaron Morris, Peter O’Shea 0-1, Gary Harrington, Colm

O’Sullivan, Thomas Harrington 0-2, Danny O'Shea, Dara Sugrue 0-6, Flor O’Sullivan0-1,   Mike O’Sullivan.