fb twitter yt

SENIOR CO. LEAGUE DIVISION 5 - ROUND 6 - 18/6/2017 2017-06-18 18:37:00

Churchill 1-18 Rathmore “B” 1-9

 In glorious sunshine, Churchill entertained Rathmore in Round 6 of the Co. League Division 5.  Rathmore  came into this game unbeaten in the league and looking to consolidate their push for promotion to Division 4.  Churchill started the brighter with three early points from Ivan Parker, Killian Fitzgerald and JJ Prior.  Michael Kelleher responded with a point for Rathmore, but Churchill took advantage of their early dominance to register the next 1-02, Fitzgerald with two more points and the goal from Ivan Parker, to give them a seven point lead mid-way through the half.  Mark Reen pointed for Rathmore and they almost got in

for a goal of their own, but Garret Walsh expertly blocked Cian Jenkins’ shot on goal. Rathmore were now starting to get some parity around mid-field and worked some nice scores, through Micheal Kelleher (3) and Denis McCarthy (2).  However, Churchill for their part, kept the scoreboard ticking over with scores from Michael O’Brien and Killian Fitzgerald and went in at the break ahead by 1-09 to 0-07.

Churchill’s influential Ivan Parker was substituted at half time through injury, but that didn’t stop their momentum, as they added the first four points of the second half, with three from Oisin O’Brien and a 45 from ‘keeper Eoghan O’Brien.  To Rathmore’s credit, they didn’t give up and got back into the game with 1-02 on the trot.  The goal came from the penalty

spot after Kelleher was pulled down in the area and he fired the resulting penalty into the bottom corner of the net.  Churchill were not to be denied though and they regained the advantage around the middle of the field and scored the last four points of the game, to run out winners by 1-18 to 1-09.*

Scorers:   Churchill: Ivan Parker 1-1, Killian Fitzgerald 0-6, Michael O’Brien 0-4,  Oisin O’Brien 0-3, Eoghan O’Brien, Sean Donnellan and Pa McCarthy 0-1 each.

Rathmore:  Michael Kelleher 1-4, Denis McCarthy 0-2, Michael O’Riordan, Mark Reen and Donnacha McCarthy 0-1 each.