fb twitter yt

SPA KILLARNEY 1-18 BEAUFORT 1-11 2017-07-11 00:59:00

Spa 1-18 Beaufort 1-11

A strong final quarter from Spa last Friday night secured the win over Beaufort at Spa. Beaufort had the better of the home side in the first half, with four attempts on goal brilliantly stopped by Spa keeper David Carroll but with Fergal Hallissey and Liam Carey in fine form, the Spa defence were kept under pressure. Mike O'Donoghue opened the scoring for Spa but with Fergal Hallissey (2), Niall O'Connor and Padraig Doona on target, Beaufort took an early lead of 0-4 to 0-1. Mike O'Donoghue and Liam Carey swapped scores as points from Evan Cronin and Liam Carey followed, but with two more points from Cronin Spa had levelled the game on 0-6 apiece. James O'Reilly and Liam Carey tapped over two more points but Spa had a strong finish to the half and with points from Mike O'Donoghue, Cormac Cronin and Mike McCarthy and Spa led 0-9 to 0-8 at the break.

On the restart, corner-back David Spillane extended the Spa advantage but Beaufort were quickly closing in on the Spa goal and after the ball rebounded off the post, was blocked by the keeper and a scramble in the goalmouth and the ball crossed the line and the green flag was waved to edge Beaufort in front once again 1-8 to 0-10 just 4 minutes into the second half. The sides continued to swap scores with Mike McCarthy, Mike O'Donoghue (3) and Evan Cronin on target for Spa while Liam Carey and Niall O'Connor scored for Beaufort. In the 25th minute David Spillane made a long run forward and finished to the back of the net to make it 1-15 to 1-10. Liam Carey replied immediately with a brilliant high ball between the posts and was running at the Spa defence again moments later for another attempt at the Spa goal but the ball was cleared and late points from Spa's Mike O'Donoghue (2) and Evan Cronin secured the Spa victory 1-18 to 1-11.

Spa: David Carroll, David Spillane (1-1), Matt Moynihan, Eoin Fitzgerald, Aidan Mulvaney, Shane Cronin, Shane Lynch, Michael McCarthy (0-2), Andrew Garnett, Eoin Cronin, Mike O'Donoghue (0-8), Cormac Cronin (0-1), Evan Cronin (0-6), Craig Hickey, Niall McCarthy. Subs: Ciaran Spillane, Eric O'Donoghue, Dara Moynihan

Beaufort: Michael Moriarty, Michael John O'Connor, Gerard Hartnett, Cormac O'Connor, Cormac Breen, Mike Breen (0-1), James O'Reilly (0-1), Sean Kelliher, Fergal Hallissey (0-2), Ciaran Kennedy (1-0), Liam Carey (0-4), Niall O'Connor (0-2), Nathan Breen, Padraig Doona (0-1), Ronan Ferris. Subs: Danny Healy, Daragh Coffey, Johnathan Kissane

Referee: Brendan Griffin (Clounmacon)