fb twitter yt

SPA KILLARNEY 2-18 LISTRY 1-11 2017-07-11 00:24:00

Spa 2-18          Listry 1-11

Spa notched up their first points of the season with a home win against Listry on Saturday evening.  Listry were immediately on the attack, with John Foley's shot on goal blocked by the Spa keeper, but within minutes were 0-3 up after Ronan Buckley (2) and Damian Clifford pointed.  Michael Foley opened the Spa tally and a second from Foley and a point from Mike O'Donoghue and the sides were level.  A super move by Liam Kearney and Craig Hickey set Michael McCarthy up for Spa's first goal and points from Craig Hickey and Dan O'Donoghue followed.  From there, it was point for point as Ronan Buckley, Joe Clifford, Derry Aherne and Anthony Kennedy swapped scores with Mike O'Donoghue (2) and Craig Hickey.  Liam Kearney came close on goal in the third quarter, but it was Shane Cronin's effort that finished to the back of the net before the break to make it Spa 2-8 Listry 0-7 at half time.

Listry's Derry Aherne, Ronan Buckley and Peadar Keane hit three fast points on the restart, one of those just tipping the crossbar, but Spa replied with seven unanswered scores from Andrew Garnett, Michael Foley (2), Mike O'Donoghue (4). Listry did get that goal when Sean Lehane's effort was stopped and Anthony Kennedy blasting the rebound past the keeper. Late scores from Liam Kearney and Mike O'Donoghue, with a final Listry point from Ronan Buckley, closed out the game Spa 2-18 Listry 1-11

Teams:  Spa - James Devane, Eoin Fitzgerald, Eoghan Cronin, Eoin Cronin, Matthew Moynihan, Dan O'Donoghue (0-1), Shane Cronin (1-0), Andrew Garnett (0-1), Liam Kearney (0-1), Michael McCarthy (1-0), Mike O'Donoghue (0-8), Michael Foley (0-5), Ciaran Spillane, Craig Hickey (0-2), Aydan Mulvaney. Subs: David Spillane, Shane Fenton, Cormac Cronin

Listry -Tadgh Aherne, Danny Wrenn, Paudie Lehane, Cian O’Donoghue, Billy O’Brien, Daragh Lehane, Kieran Murphy, Jimmy O’Leary, John Foley, Damian Clifford (0-1), Ronan Buckley (0-5), Joe Clifford (0-1), Derry Aherne (0-2), Anthony Kennedy(1-1), Peadar Keane (0-1). Subs: Sean Lehane, Paul O'Donoghue, Conor O'Sullivan, Kevin Courtney