fb twitter yt

TEMPLENOE 0-07 ST MARYS 0-13 2017-07-10 22:41:00

Templenoe 0-07, St Mary’s Cahersiveen 0-13.


The opening round of this year’s County Senior Football League kicked off in very wet and blustery conditions.  Templenoe played with the aid of the breeze, but Brian Sheehan opened the scoring with a pointed free.  Templenoe’s first score came from a Stephen O’Sullivan point, and followed up soon afterwards with a point from a Brian Crowley free. After these opening scores, it took another ten minutes for another.  Both teams were struggling to get ball into the scoring areas, and Templenoe were not making advantage of the wind.
Paulie O’Donoghue and Stephen O’Sullivan swapped scores, and after a series of Templenoe wides, Daniel Daly levelled matters with five minutes left in the half.  The final score of the half was scored by Brian Crowley leaving Templenoe up by a point, Templenoe 0-04, St Marys 0-03.  


Despite playing into the wind, Templenoe started brighter, and Denis O’Neill kicked a point to extend their lead.  St Mary’s started to utilise the conditions, and the game was decided in the next ten minutes when they kicked five great points.   Brian Sheehan (2), Conor O’Shea (2) and Sean Cournane getting the scores.  Stephen O’Sullivan pointed for the home side, but St Marys notched another two scores, leaving Templenoe chasing the game on a score of Templenoe 0-06, St Mary’s 0-10 with ten minutes remaining.  Brian Sheehan treated the crowd to two great points from frees in the final period; One from the left hand sideline 14 metres from the endline, and the other from just inside the St Mary’s half of the pitch.  Templenoe kicked the last point of the match through the boot of Gavin Crowley, leaving St Mary’s victorious on a score of Templenoe 0-07, St Mary’s 0-13.

Templenoe Scorers: Stephen O’Sullivan 0-03, Brian Crowley 0-01, Denis O’Neill 0-01, Pat Spillane 0-01, Gavin Crowley 0-01
Templenoe Team: Anthony Sheehan, Mike Hallissey, Kieran O’Neill, Jonathan Egan, Will Sheehy, Danny Cahalane, Kieran McCarthy, Gavin Crowley, Josh Crowley-Holland, Shane Cremin, Pat Spillane, John Rice, Denis O’Neill, Stephen O’Sullivan, Brian Crowley.
Subs: Joseph Sheehan, Martin Reilly, Eoin Murphy, John Moriarty

St Mary’s Scorers: Bryan Sheehan 0-05, Conor O’Shea 0-02, Dan Daly 0-02, Sean Cournane 0-02, Paulie O’Donoghue 0-01, Anthony Cournane 0-01
St Mary’s Team: Micheal Daly, Pat Cournane, Brian Curren, Ian Casey, Conor Quirke, Conor O’Shea, Dan O’Sullivan, Darragh O’Sullivan, Paulie O’Donoghue, Adam Quirke, Dan Daly, Bryan Sheehan, Sean Cournane, Anthony Cournane, Darren Casey.
Subs: Mark Quigley, Kielan Moriarty, Niall O’Shea