fb twitter yt

Kerry recorded first win on Mayo soil since 2011 2016-03-13 18:20:00

Allianz Football League Division 1
Kerry 2-13 Mayo 0-14
Kerry recorded their first win on Mayo soil since 2011 when a much improved second half performance saw them get three wins on the bounce at McHale Park this afternoon. Kerry got the better start but Mayo hit back to dominate most of the first half and it took a goal by Johnny Buckley to give a kind look to the scoreboard at the break at which stage Kerry trailed by just a single score.
Kerry came out in the second half with all guns blazing however to outscore the home-side by 1-10 to 0-7 and they did so despite being reduced to 14 men after the dismissal of Kieran Donaghy on a second yellow in the 54th minute.
Peter Crowley and Darran O’Sullivan gave Kerry the perfect start to the game with two points inside the opening 7 minutes but Mayo hit back with four points on the trot before Bryan Sheehan pointed a free in the 21st minute following a foul on Colm Cooper. Kerry were finding it difficult to break through a well organised defence and they lived on their nerves at the other end when first Aidan O’Shea may have goaled instead of pointing and then Brendan Kealy saved well from Jason O’Doherty at the expense of a pointed “45” by Rob Hennelly. Aidan McLoughlin pointed another placed ball soon after as Mayo piled on the pressure but just before the break Kerry were thrown a lifeline when Johnny Buckley weaved a bit of magic to score a fine goalafter good work by Colm Cooper and darran O’Sullivan to leave Kerry just a point adrift at the break, 1-3 to 0-7.
Whatever manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice said to his charges during the half time interval had the desired effect as Kerry resumed in a far more determined fashion. Darran O’Sullivan and Aidan O’Shea swapped points but then Kerry had three points on the trot from Buckley, a typical pointed free from Bryan Sheehan and another free by Colm Cooper to edge ahead by 1-7 to 0-8. Tom Parsons replied for Mayo and then Kerry passed up a great chance of a goal when Bryan Sheehan’s pass to the inrushing Mark Griffin was just intercepted but we had not to wait long for the major score when Colm Cooper’s high delivery was flicked down by Donaghy and Donnchadh Walsh was on hand to finish to the net in the 11th minute of the half and when Colm Cooper pointed a free from near the sideline in the 51st minute Kerry were 2-8 to 0-9 clear. Barry John Keane replaced Stephen O’Brien but then Kieran Donaghy, who had a fine game to that point, was red carded following a second yellow and Kerry were down to 14 men for the second game in a row. Mayo piled on the pressure in his absence but crucially Kerry were able to respond with a score any time that Mayo threatened to make inroads on the scoreboard. McLaughlin and Peter Crowley exchanged scores as did Jason O’Doherty and Marc Ó Sé to leave the score 2-10 to 0-11and Kerry had also lost Peter Crowley to a Black Card at this stage. Barry John Keane and Andy Moran (2 frees) then exchanged scores and sub Brendan O’Sullivan chipped in with an important score for Kerry. Moran went for broke from a close in free but Aidan O’Mahony blocked on the line and in the dying minutes Seamus O’Shea’s point was replied to once again by the impressive sub Brendan O’Sullivan to leave Kerry 5 points to the good at the final whistle.
Next up is Monaghan in Clones on March 27th and Kerry finish up with Cork as visitors to Austin Stack Park on April 7th.

Kerry: Johnny Buckley 1-1, Donnchadh Walsh 1-0, Darran O’Sullivan 0-3, Bryan Sheehan (2f), Peter Crowley, Colm Cooper (2f), Brendan O’Sullivan 0-2 each, Marc Ó Sé 0-1.
: K McLoughlin 0-3 (1f), R Hennelly 0-2 (1f, 0-1 ’45), A O’Shea 0-2, S Nally 0-1, D O’Connor 0-1, T Parsons 0-1, J Doherty 0-1, A Moran 0-2 (2f).
Kerry: Brendan Kealy, Marc Ó Sé, Mark Griffin, Shane Enright, A idan O’Mahony, Peter Crowley, Fionn Fitzgerald, Kieran Donaghy, Bryan Sheehan, Donnchadh Walsh, Paul Murphy, Johnny Buckley, Darran O’Sullivan, Colm Cooper, Stephen O’Brien. Subs: Brian Kelly for Kealy (30 mins), Barry John Keane for O’Brien (53), Brendan O’Sullivan (0-02) for Buckley (56), Padraig O’Connor for Crowley (63, black), Jonathan Lyne for Walsh (66), Denis Daly for Darran O’Sullivan (73).
Mayo: R Hennelly; B Harrison, G Cafferkey, L Keegan; S Nally, C Boyle, D Vaughan; T Parsons, S O’Shea; D O’Connor, J Doherty, C Carolan; K McLoughlin, A O’Shea, C O’Shea. Subs: S Coen for Nally (46 mins), A Moran (0-02, 0-02f) for Carolan (51), M Sweeney for C O’Shea (59), C Barrett for Cafferkey (65), J Gibbons for Doherty (67).
Referee: Rory Hickey (Clare).

Kerry Senior Football Team V Mayo Allianz Football League Round 5
The Kerry Senior Football Team to play Mayo in Round 5 of the Allianz Football League in McHale Park Castlebar on Sunday (2:30pm) shows 3 changes in personnel from the side that defeated Donegal on Sunday last.
Brendan Kealy starts in goal in place of Brian Kelly as Eamonn Fitzmaurice continues to rotate his goalkeepers, Johnny Buckley comes in for Denis Daly in the half forward line and Colm Cooper returns from injury for his first start in the current League in place of the suspended Alan Fitzgerald.
The list of substitutes is notable for the return from long term injury of Michael Geaney who joins the match day squad for the first time since the All Ireland Quarter Final against Kildare last year, and Kieran O’Leary who resumes having missed all of last year’s championship campaign, both absences due to injury.
Tommy Walsh, Killian Young and David Moran are still nursing knocks and are not part of the match day panel.
The team, captained by Bryan Sheehan is as follows:
1. Brendan Kealy Kilcummin
2. Marc Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht
3. Mark Griffin St Michaels/Foilmore
4. Shane Enright Tarbert
5. Peter Crowley Laune Rangers
6. Aidan O’Mahony Rathmore
7. Fionn Fitzgerald Dr Crokes
8. Kieran Donaghy Austin Stacks
9. Bryan Sheehan (C) St Marys
10. Johnny Buckley Dr Crokes
11. Paul Murphy Rathmore
12. Donnchadh Walsh Cromane
13. Darran O’Sullivan Glenbeigh-Glencar
14. Colm Cooper Dr Crokes
15. Stephen O’Brien Kenmare
Fir Ionaid:
16. Brian Kelly Killarney Legion
17. Denis Daly St Marys
18. Padraig O’Connor Killarney Legion
19. Barry John Keane Kerins O’Rahillys
20. Aidan Walsh St Marys
21. Pa Kilkenny Glenbeigh/Glencar
22. Brendan O’Sullivan Valentia
23. Philip O’Connor Cordal
24. Michael Geaney Dingle
25. Jonathan Lyne Killarney Legion
26. Kieran O’Leary Dr Crokes
Bainisteóir: Eamonn Fitzmaurice (Finuge)
Róghnóirí: Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle), Mikey Sheehy (Austin Stacks), Padraig Corcoran (Dingle), Liam Hassett (Laune Rangers).
Long Term Injury Update
Paul Geaney, Anthony Maher and James O’Donoghue are expected to return to training next month.

Click here
for preview and news on the game.