fb twitter yt

Castleisland Mart Novice Club Championship Final 2017   08/10/2017

Castleisland Mart Novice Club Championship Final 

Cromane 1-12 Moyvane 0-12


CROMANE bridged a 10 year gap to their last Novice success of 2007 in Strand Road this afternoon as an early Emmet Casey goal ultimately proved to be the difference for them in getting the better of a determined but ultimately wide prone Moyvane. Casey was alert to a free from the impressive Darren Houlihan dropping short in the third minute in poking the ball past Diarmuid Fitzmaurice for his goal.

Moyvane came more into the game towards the end of the first-half with points from Kevin Kennelly, the hard-working Shane Stack and Colin Enright bringing them within a point of their Mid Kerry opponents before the break yet a Paul Patrick O’Sullivan free would give Cromane a half-time lead of 1-5 to 0-6. The North Kerry side would lose Martin Stack to a second yellow card seven minutes after the restart but they stayed driven and hungry to make amends as Cromane’s John Michael Foley and replacement Sean Teahan both picked up Black Cards.


Sean O’Sullivan pitched in with three crucial second-half points for the victors as trailing by five with five minutes left, Timmy Noonan brought Moyvane within a goal as injury time loomed. They laid sieged to the Cromane defence in trying to find a way through but the Mid Kerry side held their nerve in holding on to their three point win, O’Sullivan making an interception on one such occasion.

After the game, Christy Killeen of the County Committee presented the Novice Cup to winning captain Paul Patrick O’Sullivan.


Cromane will now represent Kerry in the Knockaderry Invitational Tournament in West Limerick, a tournament they previously won back in 2008.

Cromane: Paudie McCarthy, Stephen Foley, Eoghan Walsh, Brendan Foley, Liam Teahan, John M Foley, Finbarr Casey (0-1), Donnachadh Walsh, Darren Houlihan (0-4, 2f), Emmet Casey (1-0), Michéal Shaughnessy (0-2), Shane Ahern, Sean O’Sullivan (0-3), Paul P O’Sullivan (0-2), Mikey Houlihan 

Subs: Sean Teahan for John M Foley (Black Card) and Eamon O’Connor for Sean Teahan (Black Card).

Moyvane: Diarmuid Fitzmaurice, Micheal Woods, Shane Stack (0-2), Jerry Clancy, John Finucane, William Madden, DJ Keane, Eamon O’Flaherty, Owen Stack (0-1), Kevin Kennelly (0-2), Brian Stack, Aidan Keane (0-1, 1f), Martin Stack (0-1), Timmy Noonan (0-3, 2f), Colin Enright (0-1) 

Subs: Mark Mulvihill (0-1) for Clancy, Diarmuid Leahy for Enright and John J Mulvihill for Woods.

Referee: Brendan Brosnan (Glenflesk)