fb twitter yt

Junior Championship Semi Final Castlegregory 1-10 Tuosist 2-6   10/09/2017

Castleisland Mart Junior Championship Semi Final

Castlegregory 1-10          Tuosist 2-6

Castlegregory qualified for the County Junior Final with a one point defeat over Tousist, played at Legion pitch on Saturday afternoon. 

This was a tense and hard-fought encounter from the off. 

Tousist, had the better of the opening exchanges, forcing their opponents to concede a penalty within the first minute which was duly converted by Liam O’Shea. Peter O’Shea added a point ten minutes later. Castlegregory failed to register a score until the 18th minute when Brandon Hoare pointed from play and then Castle’s Maurice Slattery notched three successive points in as many minutes to edge his side ahead. Points by Liam O’Shea (2) and Thomas Harrington for Tousist restored their lead. Castlegregory lost Alan Fitzgerald to injury on the stroke of half-time but not before he had added a point to leave the half-time score Tousist 1-4 Castlegregory 0-6.

 Castlegregory began to dominate proceedings on the resumption. A pointed free from Anto Kelliher drew the sides level. Castlegregory were then awarded a penalty which was driven against the upright and went wide. Timmy Moriarty pointed from play and Colm Brosnan replied to leave the sides level but Jimmy O’Grady then took on the Tousist defence and broke through for a crucial goal. Anto Kelliher added a point to increase the lead. A pointed free from Colm Brosnan was cancelled by Maurice Slattery. With the game in injury time, Tousist went seeking a goal. They were rewarded with another penalty which was again converted by Liam O’Shea. Both sides had chances from distance to take the lead which were missed. Nine minutes into injury time Castlegregory were awarded a free from 45m. Jimmy O’Grady stepped up and coolly drove the ball between the posts to leave his side ahead by the slimmest of margins as the final whistle sounded. Full-time Castlegregory 1-10 Tousist 2-6.

Castlegregory now face either Lispole or Listry who meet in the other semi-final, to be played next weekend.

Castlegregory: David O’Dowd, James Gallwey, Gearóid Fitzgerald, David Sheehan, Pádraig Rohan (Timmy Walsh 40 mins), Timmy Moriarty (0-1), Michael Scanlon (0-1), Alan Fitzgerald (0-1) (Adam O’Donnell half-time), Joe O’ Connor, Brandon Hoare (0-1), Jimmy O’Grady (1-1), Tomás O’Connor, Anton Kelliher (0-1 free), Liam Maunsell (Jordan Quirke 40 mins), Maurice Slattery(0-4).

Tousist: Stephen O’Sullivan, James O’Brien, Morgan O’Sullivan, Ryan Fitzpatrick, Daniel O’Shea, Conor Harrington, Dan Hawker, Flor O’Sullivan, Peter O’Shea (0-1), Colm Brosnan (0-2 frees), Thomas Harrington (0-1), Mike Tim O’Shea, Aaron Morris, Gary Harrington, Liam O’Shea (2-2, 2 penalties).