fb twitter yt

Kerry U21 defeated by Galway   15/04/2017

EirGrid All Ireland Under 21 Football Semi-Final

Courtesy of GAA.ie

GALWAY 2-14 KERRY 2-10

By Cian O'Connell at Cusack Park, Ennis

Galway stunned Kerry producing a dynamic display in Ennis to secure a deserved EirGrid All Ireland Under 21 Semi-Final victory.

Prompted by the excellent Cein D’arcy and Peter Cooke, Galway seized the initiative and were able to deal with a third quarter Kerry rally.

Having hit 37 shots during a fast and frenetic match Galway could have prevailed by a greater margin, but they still did enough to take a prized scalp.

Galway commenced the game in blistering fashion scoring 1-7 from nine attempts in the first 10 minutes.

It was a purposeful patch from Gerry Fahy’s charges, who thundered into the contest netting a sweet goal after only 24 seconds.

Cein D’arcy, Eoin Finnerty, Robert Finnerty, and Sean Kelly were all involved in a swift build up with Dessie Conneely rattling the Kerry net.

Buoyed up by that major Galway continued to pour forward in search of further scores with Peter Cooke, Michael Daly, Robert Finnerty, Sean Kelly, and Kieran Molloy landing splendid points.

Kerry were in deep trouble, but the relocation, for a spell, of the pacy Matthew Flahety to a sweeper role was critical, while Galway, initially clinically, started to waste opportunities.

The fact that Kerry, fielding 14 All Ireland minor winners, could only muster one point from play before the break, courtesy of Killian Spillane, proved just how diligent Galway were defensively.

At the interval Galway led 1-9 to 0-4 against the raging hot favourites and an interesting second period beckoned.

Within a minute of the restart Matthew O’Sullivan bundled a disputed Kerry goal over the line and Jack O’Connor’s team were firmly back in the reckoning.

Flaherty was back operating at wing forward kicking a couple of points which narrowed the gap down to 1-10 to 1-6.

Crucially Galway landed four of the next six points with Cooke, McDaid, and D’arcy contributing handsomely edging the Tribesmen 1-14 to 1-8 in front.

Kerry’s Barry O’Sullivan was sent off in the 48th minute for a second bookable offence and Galway confidently closed out the deal.

Eoin Finnerty fashioned an opportunity which substitute Colin Brady converted for the insurance goal and while Jordan Kiely responded with a Kerry major it was merely a consolation. Galway’s decider with Dublin in a fortnight should be tasty.

Scorers for Galway: Peter Cooke 0-5 (3fs), Dessie Conneely and Colin Brady 1-0 each, Michael Daly and Sean Kelly 0-2 each, Cillian McDaid, Cein D’arcy, Kieran Molloy, Paul Mannion, and Robert Finnerty 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kerry: Killian Spillane 0-4 (3fs), Matthew O’Sullivan and Jordan Kiely 1-0 each, Matthew Flaherty and Shane Ryan (1f, 145) 0-2 each, Conor Geaney (f) and Sean O’Shea (f) 0-1 each.

GALWAY: Ronan O’Beolain; Ruairi Greene, Sean Andy O’Ceallaigh, Liam Kelly; Cillian McDaid, Dylan McHugh, Kieran Molloy; Peter Cooke, Cein D’arcy; Sean Kelly, Michael Daly, Paul Mannion; Robert Finnerty, Eoin Finnerty, Dessie Conneely.

Subs: Colin Brady for Paul Mannion (41), Michael Boyle for Robert Finnerty (53), Colm O’Braonain for Cein D’arcy (57), Eric Lee for Cillian McDaid (60).

KERRY: Shane Ryan; Tom Leo O’Sullivan, Jason Foley, Tom O’Sullivan; Brian O’Beaglaoich, Brian O’Seanachain, Gavin White; Andrew Barry, Barry O’Sullivan; Matthew Flaherty, Sean O’Shea, Brandon Barrett; Killian Spillane, Matthew O’Sullivan, Conor Geaney.

Subs: Michael Burns for Brandon Barrett (29), Roibeard O Se for Brian O’Seanachain (41), Jordan Kiely for Sean O’Shea (45), Jack Morgan for Gavin White (56), Robert Coffey for Tom Leo O’Sullivan (59), Daniel O'Brien for Brian O'Beaglaoich (60).

REFEREE: Brendan Cawley (Kildare).

Eirgrid Under 21 Football Championship Semi Final 15th Apr 2017

Cusack Pk in Ennis at 4:30pm

The Kerry Under 21 Football Team to play Galway in the All Ireland Under 21 Championship Semi Final in Cusack Park on Saturday evening (4:30pm) shows two changes in personnel from the side that defeated Cork in the Munster Final. Team captain Brian Sugrue of Renard, injured in the provincial decider, misses the game; Tom O’Sullivan goes back to the corner, Andrew Barry drops back to the centre back position with Barry O’Sullivan coming in at midfield. Up front, Conor Geaney comes in at corner forward in place of Cathal Bambury.

The team, captained by Matthew O’Sullivan of St Michaels-Foilmoreis as follows:

1.Shane Ryan
2.Tom (Leo) O’Sullivan
3.Jason Foley
4.Tom O’Sullivan
5.Brian Ó Beaglaoich
An Ghaeltacht
6.Andrew Barry
Na Gaeil
7.Gavin White
Dr Crokes
8.Brian Ó Seanacháin
9.Barry O’Sullivan
10.Brandon Barrett
11.Sean O’Shea
12.Matthew Flaherty
13.Killian Spillane
14.Matthew O’Sullivan
St Michaels-Foilmore
15.Conor Geaney

Fir Ionaid:

16.Eoghan O’Brien
17.Jack Morgan
Austin Stacks
18.Cathal Bambury
19.Cormac Coffey
Kerins O’Rahillys
20.Daniel O’Brien
21.Micheál Burns
Dr Crokes
22.Jordan Kiely
Dr Crokes
23.Roibeard Ó Sé
An Ghaeltacht
24.Lee O’Donoghue
25.Mark Ryan



Bainisteoir:  Jack O’Connor (Dromid Pearses)

Roghnoirí:  Micheál O’Shea (Castlegregory), Eamon Whelan (St Senans), Declan O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses).

Treanálaí: Alan O’Sullivan (Kerins O’Rahillys) and Arthur Fitzgerald (Firies)

With the exception of Matthew O’Sullivan, all of the side have played in successful All Ireland minor winning sides since 2014 with Sean O’Shea a member of last year’s winning side.

The following Players are in their 3rd Year at U21 level: Shane Ryan (Injured for last year’s final), Brian Ó Beaglaoich, Barry O’Sullivan, Micheál Burns & Matthew Flaherty.