Minor Championship Quarter Final 2017-07-18 22:51:00

Keanes Supervalu Killorglin Minor County Championship Quarter Finals - 18th July 2017


Mid Kerry 0-4 East Kerry 5-17


Despite East Kerry knocking their neighbours out of the Keanes Supervalu Killorglin Minor County Championship the spectators were very happy having been treated to a fantastic display of football in glorious sunshine in Beaufort earlier tonight. You could see East Kerry trainer Seamus Moynihan’s influence on the pitch, especially in the second half.

Mid Kerry opened the scoring with a well taken point off the boot of Captain,  Ciaran Kennedy but it was their last point for 30th minutes. East Kerry got into gear dominating all over the pitch and gave the supporters of both sides value for their money. Having said that, Mid Kerry fought, and fought hard but couldn’t get the better of their opponents. East Kerry secured 1-06 without reply in the remainder of that first half  with  Brian Friel (2pts), David Clifford (1-2) & Ian Roche & Cian Gammell 0-1 each getting on the scoreboard. The homeside kept fighting and got the last point of the half from Killian Murphy.

Half time score: Mid Kerry 0-2 East Kerry 1-6

I think everyone knew the second half was going to be bitter sweet for Mid Kerry. They substituted Killian Murphy with Adrian O’Connor, Sean Hogan for Cathal Crosbie. East Kerry brought in David Dineen for Jamie O’Sullivan & Damian Cronin for Cian O’Shea.

The visitors added to their tally with 1-3 (Paul O’Shea, Niall McCarthy, Brian Friel points and a superb goal from the Kerry Minor Capt. David Clifford). With 14 minutes gone Mid Kerry were awarded a free and Ciaran Kennedy obliged.

Again East Kerry added a further 3-6 (Brian Friel 0-2, Niall McCarthy 0-1, David Clifford 2-2, David Dineen 0-1 & Sean O’Leary 1-0) before Mid Kerry registered their last score of the game – a Jonathan Kissane Pt. East Kerry got the last 2 points of the game (David Clifford & Oran O’Donoghue) to go through to the semi finals.

Mid Kerry Team: Sean Coffey Beaufort, Aaron O’Brien Miltown/Castlemaine, Ian McGillicuddy Beaufort, Kieran Sullivan Beaufort, David Leane Miltown/Castlemaine, Cathal Crosbie Cromane, Conor Sugrue Cromane, Ciaran Kennedy Capt Beaufort, Jonathan Kissane Beaufort, Dylan Sullivan Beaufort, Dara Casey Glenbeigh/Glencar, Killian Kerins Miltown/Castlemaine, Killian Murphy Keel, Dylan O’Neill Miltown/Castlemaine, John Dennehy Miltown/Castlemaine

Mid Kerry Scorers: Ciaran Kennedy 0-2 (1Fr). Killian Murphy & Jonathan Kissane 0-1 each.

Subs used: Sean Hogan Miltown/Castlemaine for Cathal Crosbie, Adrian O’Connor Glenbeigh/Glencar for Killian Murphy, Patrick O’Connor Miltown/Castlemaine for Aaron O’Brien, Cian Flynn Keel for Dylan Sullivan & Oisin Bulger Miltown/Castlemaine for Dylan O’Neill.

East Kerry Team: Mark Kelliher Glenflesk, Sean O’Leary Kilcummin, Chris O’Donoghue Glenflesk, Oran O’Donoghue Glenflesk, Jamie O’Sullivan Gneeveguilla, Cian Gammell Legion, Pa Warren Gneeveguilla, Brian Friel Rathmore, Cian O’Shea Fossa, Paul O’Shea Kilcummin, Niall McCarthy Spa, Michael Devlin Legion, Barry Keane Listry, David Clifford Fossa, Ian Roche (Capt) Glenflesk.

East Kerry Scorers: Brian Friel 0-5, David Clifford 4-5, Niall McCarthy 0-2, Sean O’Leary 1-0, Ian Roche, Cian Gammell, David Dineen, Paul O’Shea & Oran O’Donoghue 0-1 each.

Subs for East Kerry: Gary Vaughan Spa for Ian Roche, Sean Doherty Glenflesk for Barry Keane Listry, Anthony O’Keeffe Fossa for Chris O’Donoghue Glenflesk, Luke O’Donoghue for Niall McCarthy.