Kerry Hurlers go down to Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds 2017-02-19 15:03:00

Allianz Hurling League Division 1B


By Jackie Cahill at the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick -  Courtesy of

Limerick collected their first victory of the Allianz Hurling League Division 1B campaign – on a day when Wexford took a firm hold on the promotion race.

John Kiely’s charges could be looking at an eighth season in the second tier next year, as an opening day defeat to Wexford looks like it could be a costly result.

Limerick bounced back to hammer Kerry this afternoon at the Gaelic Grounds, in front of just 1,065 spectators. Limerick beat Kerry by 4-28 to 0-16 in the Munster Senior Hurling League and inflicted another heavy beating on Fintan O’Connor’s visitors.

Ahead by 10 points at the break, Limerick kicked on in the second half, as Ronan Lynch led the way in the scoring stakes with a massive total haul of 3-11. Padraig Boyle’s hat-trick of goals for Kerry proved in vain as the Kingdom suffered their first defeat of the League campaign, having claimed victory over Laois last weekend.

Limerick could only take care of their own business and that they did, despite the spirited challenge of a Kerry team that finished with 14 men, when Shane Nolan was issued with a straight red card late on. And Lynch could have finished with 4-10 rather than 3-11, as his second half penalty struck the crossbar and went over, rather than under.

But Lynch contented himself with three second half goals as Limerick eventually ran riot. The hosts recovered from the concession of two Boyle goals to lead comfortably at half-time, 2-13 to 2-3.

Boyle grabbed his first goal in the 10th minute, finishing a fine move involving Shane Nolan and Colum Harty. Limerick, playing with a slight breeze, rallied to lead by 0-7 to 1-1 before Boyle struck again eight minutes later, brilliantly fielding brother Mikey’s sideline ball before rattling a low drive into the corner of the net. That score levelled the game at 2-1 to 0-7 but Limerick, with Seanie Tobin, Tom Morrissey and Ronan Lynch contributing all, but one goal of their first half tally, won the remainder of the half by 2-6 to 0-2.

Limerick’s opening goal came in the 26th minute, as Graeme Mulcahy latched onto a precise ball from James Ryan to finish well. And Tom Morrissey’s injury-time goal increased Limerick’s advantage, before Jordan Conway and Lynch traded points. 

Lynch hit the net from a 20m free to kick-start the second half goal glut and 17 minutes from time, he was credited with a scruffy effort for his second major. Kevin O’Brien’s first touch after coming on as sub saw him score Limerick’s fifth goal ten minutes from home, as Boyle replied in kind within a minute for Kerry. Eight minutes from time, Lynch rattled his penalty off the crossbar and over, after O’Brien was fouled, before the Na Piarsaigh man completed his treble in the 67th minute, again from a blistering 20m free.

Scorers for Limerick: Ronan Lynch 3-11 (2-5fs, 265s, 0-1 pen), Tom Morrissey 1-3, Graeme Mulcahy 1-1, Seanie Tobin 0-4, Kevin O’Brien 1-0, James Ryan and Andrew La Touche Cosgrave 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kerry: Padraig Boyle 3-0, Shane Nolan 0-5f, Patrick Kelly, Jordan Conway and Jack Goulding (f) 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: Nickie Quaid; Stephen Cahill, Richie McCarthy, Richie English; Colin Ryan, Seamus Hickey, Declan Hannon; John Fitzgibbon, James Ryan; Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey, Cian Lynch; Graeme Mulcahy, Ronan Lynch, Sean Tobin. 

Subs: William O’Donoghue for Hayes (h.t.), Darragh O’Donovan for C Lynch (44), Pat Ryan for Fitzgibbon (56), Andrew La Touche Cosgrave for Mulcahy (56), Kevin O’Brien for Tobin (59).

KERRY: Aiden McCabe; Bryan Murphy, Rory Horgan, Sean Weir; Paud Costello, Patrick Kelly, Darren Dineen; Paudie O’Connor, Colum Harty; Shane Nolan, Mikey Boyle, Jordan Conway; Keith Carmody, Padraig Boyle, Jack Goulding. 

Subs: James O’Connor for M Boyle (h.t.), John Buckley for Costello (55), Jason Wallace for Carmody (58), Stephen Murphy for Conway (58), James Godley for Kelly (59).

REFEREE: Alan Kelly (Galway).

Kerry Senior Hurling Team v Limerick – Allianz Hurling League Division 1B

Sunday February 19th  2017

The Kerry Senior Hurling Team to play Limerick in Round 2 of the Allianz Hurling League on Sunday next in the Gaelic Grounds  at 2 pm is the same 15 as started in the Round 1 win over Laois. The team captained by Aiden McCabe of Kilmoyley is as follows:


1 Aiden McCabe       (C)       Kilmoyley        

2 Sean Weir                           Crotta O’Neills

3 Rory Horgan                      St Brendans

4 Bryan Murphy                   Causeway

5 Paud Costello                      Ballyduff

6 Patrick Kelly                       Clarecastle

7 Darren Dineen                    St Brendans

8 Paudie O’Connor               Kilmoyley

9 Colum Harty                       Causeway

10 Jack Goulding                  Ballyduff

11 Mikey Boyle                      Ballyduff

12 Daniel Collins                   Kilmoyley

13 Jordan Conway                Crotta O’Neills

14 Padraig Boyle                   Ballyduff

15 Shane Nolan                     Crotta O’Neills


Fir Ionaid:

16 Martin Stackpoole            Lixnaw

17 James O’Connor              Abbeydorney

18 Keith Carmody                Causeway

19 James Godley                   Kilmoyley

20 Stephen Murphy              Causeway

21 John Buckley                    Lixnaw

22 Tomás O’Connor             Crotta O’Neills

23 Philp Lucid                       Ballyheigue


24 Billy Lyons                        Causeway

25 Liam Mullins                    Lixnaw

26 Jason Wallace                   Lixnaw

27 Fionán Horgan                 Ardfert

28 John Griffin                     Lixnaw



Bainisteoir: Fintan O’Connor

Coach: Brendan Cummins


Treanálaí: Damien Ryall (Abbeydorney)


Róghnóir: Ian Brick (Kilmoyley)


Extended Panel for Sunday’s Game

Daniel O’Carroll                     Ballyduff

Sean Nolan                              Kilmoyley

Jordan Brick                            Kilmoyley

Darragh Shanahan                   Lixnaw

David Silles                             Lixnaw

Unavailable – Rehabbing from Injury

Tommy Casey                         Causeway

Michael O’Leary                     Abbeydorney

Brendan O’Leary                     Abbeydorney

 Jason Diggins                          Causeway